We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Elliotts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elliotts
Ranked #97 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights and it was fantastic. The owners and staff were lovely, the breakfast was excellent and the room nice, cosy and immaculate. We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived, nothing was too much bother. We will defintely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PritchDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
113
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It doesn't seem to matter how many times I stay at Elliott's, the experience is always excellent. I was there last weekend, and the room was warm, very clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced. The breakfast continues to be a treat, and Phil, Maureen and staff were, as usual, friendly and helpful. It's a sign of their success that guests in some of the other rooms were repeat visitors, and spoken to on a first name basis. Add in the lovely neighbourhood and the convenient location...well, you just can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Elliotts. We enjoyed it so much, we went back to stay a few more days en route back from North Yorkshire.
A very welcoming couple who make you feel right at home. Rooms are lovely and the location is perfect. Nestled on a quiet street very close to the park and centre of town.
The rooms are very nicely done with space and very clean.
Breakfast is yummy with all you need to get your day started.
Much appreciated the access to computer as we did not yet have our own laptop. Made it easier to book outings frmo the comfort of your own place.
We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We opted for a larger room with larger bed. Both were quiet and very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a return visit to Elliotts, and the stardard is extremely good for a guest house, the bedroom was warm and very clean,with everything you need to make your stay comfortable,flat screen tv, with all freeview channels, the breakfast is fantastic, and very well cooked and the presentation is excelent. The location is very central, and a short stroll through the park, will take you to the centre of York. This guest house will be frist on my list to telephone to seek availability when staying in the city of York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topazstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire England
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

4 of us stayed over for 1 night in September en route from Edinburgh to home. We couldn't have been better treated. The welcome was great, and helpful in terms of walking into and around York. The rooms are large and clean with a good bathroom, though the shower was a bit of a mystery to start with. Breakfasts were very good, and although we were 1 nighters they were happy for us to leave our car in their (free off-road) car park until mid afternoon on the day we left. The location is great, in a very quiet street and a short walk across the park to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed four nights at Elliots while attending a work conference in York. Maureen and Phil were very friendly and helpful hosts. The location was perfect; an easy walk to all of the tourist sights but still on a quiet side street with almost zero traffic or noise. I highly recommend Elliots.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Armagh
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay and I honestly cannot rate this guesthouse highly enough.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and quickly shown to our rooms. The rooms were both beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. They had all the little extras that you usually only get in hotels - shower gell, shampoo, body lotion, bottled water and tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was always excellent, but it was really the owners and staff that made our stay there so special. They were so friendly and kind and treated us like family staying with them.

The location is ideal - far enough out of the city centre to be lovely and quiet at nights, but only about 5 mins walk to the train station (there is a shortcut through a car park nearby) and also only about 5 mins through the beautiful Museum Gardens into the city centre.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this Guesthouse to anyone and have already told all my family about it. Would love to go back someday myself!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waringstown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 192 in York
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#39 of 192 in York
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Guest House
Abbey Guest House
#46 of 192 in York
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliotts

Property: Elliotts
Address: 2 Sycamore Place, York YO30 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned guest house only 5 minutes walk into the city centre. Free on-site car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elliotts Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing