We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely helpful hosts - couldn't do enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sycamore Guest House
Ranked #100 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful hosts - couldn't do enough.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We arrived early but our hosts were only too happy to store our bags. In fact, they couldn't do enough for us. They even stored our bags when we checked out as we were catching a late train. The room was adequate, although a bit tight but the bed was very comfortable. It was very quite and for once, was not overheated. It was in an extremely convenient location and we enjoyed our 2 nights there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    47
    17
    8
    11
See reviews for
19
88
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

After reading all the fab reviews I was very much looking forward to staying at the Sycamore Guest House, but ended up being really disappointed - and checked out after one night instead of the four nights I had originally booked. Yes, the hosts are very nice and friendly, the room was clean and the bed was comfy, but all that didn't help, because of the fact that the walls (at least up there on the top floor) are PAPER THIN! I was in room no. 4 (very tired decor... but okay for four nights, and, as I said, it was very clean, which is much more important, of course) and there was an elderly couple staying in the room next to mine. They weren't noisy at all - just talking normally and watching TV. However, I could hear everything, and it was almost as if they were in the same room with me. My room was an en-suite, but theirs obviously wasn't, as one of them (or both), kept opening and closing doors all the time to go to the loo on the passage. As a result, I didn't get any sleep all night and decided to check out on the following day. I booked a new hotel with my mobile phone during that night and went there early the next morning. I have never done this before and felt a bit guilty towards the hosts, as they were so nice, but it couldn't be helped. The way the landlady dealt with my complaint was very competent and she was very understanding and said she was sorry I didn't like the room, also as apparently nobody had ever complained in the past. Well, then those people were either deaf or there had been single occupants only in the adjoing rooms up until then. Anyhow, if you still decide to stay in room no. 4 (I can't judge the other ones, of course, but I guess room 5 (and maybe room 6) must be the same, as they're all on the same (top) floor), I'd strongly advise you to take VERY good earplugs...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Britfraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

on ringing the door bell we were greeted by elizabeth and spiro a great couple
we were taken to the rooms. very clean and tidy .showers nice and hot bed made every day and clean towel if you needed them . next was the breakfast there was everything you think of and that was 5star all in all a great place to stay thanks again derby lads

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbylads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

I have stayed at the Sycamore about 10 times in the past 5 years. I find the hosts to be very friendly & helpful. This place is a cosy home from home & have always thoroughly enjoyed myself there. The breakfast is excellent & so is the service. The rooms are clean with traditional decor & lots of character. The location for York City Centre is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrimsbyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights. Convenient location is this utterly walkable city. Clean, comfy. Our 2 rooms were on the top floor, and the one w/ the double bed was quite cramped. Kids' room next door was charming under the eaves, w/ a skylight, but would have been very cramped had they been bigger!. Very traditional decor, tons of bric a brac. We had a lovely private bath one flight down, bigger than our NYC apartment bathroom! Had no problem with hot water. The weather was unseasonably chilly, but we were quite comfy under duvets. I imagine the top rooms can be sweltering on hot days. Hosts were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts fine, even if we opted to skip the full english most days. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kava63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

My husband took ill as we were taking our leave and our hosts at the Sycamore could not have been more kind or helpful. The house itself is very charming, clean, and convenient, but what really stuck out where the lengths these people went to to make our emergency less of an emergency. While I was at the hospital seeing to my husband, they provided our 21 and 18 year old with help packing, gave them money and sightseeing advice (since they were having to wait), called around to the train station to see if we could change our tickets, called around to see who might board us if we needed to stay in town for additional time (the Sycamore was booked); in short, I could not have asked more from friends. I would strongly recommend this B & B for the kindness of its hosts. And the house itself is a cut above most B & B establishments; we stayed in 10 other recommended houses this trip alone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanishen, Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

my husband and i really enjoyed our stay at the sycamore. i was very surprised to read anything negative about this guest house. the hosts were among the most friendly and helpful we've come across compared to other b&b's. our room was very pretty with traditional interiors in keeping with the building and the historic city. housekeeping was impecable and the breakfast absolutely delicious and fresh. the whole stay was a joy and we're hoping to return soon. thanks sycamore!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eli-johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Annes Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Guest House
0.3 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sycamore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sycamore Guest House

Property: The Sycamore Guest House
Address: 19 Sycamore Place | Bootham, York YO30 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sycamore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian town-house, built around 1904, is a small family-run guest house in York. It is a 5-minute walk through the Museum Gardens to the Minster and city centre. The rooms feature tea and coffee making facilities, a flat-screen TV and free WiFi. Every morning, guests will enjoy a selection of breakfast options including full English breakfast. The Sycamore Guest House is 10 minutes' walk or a short taxi ride from York Railway Station with its excellent rail links to the rest of England. The guest house also offers guaranteed on-street parking opposite the house at the end of the cul-de-sac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sycamore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing