We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sycamore Guest House
Ranked #94 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a welcome from the delightful Spiros! We had a fab stay for a weekend break for myself and my husband. The room was clean, well stocked with tea, coffee, sweets, hair drier etc.
There was a good variety of breakfasts to choose from and the full English was very tasty with delicious cafitiere coffee.
Just a short stroll from the city centre this is a good choice of accommodation with a friendly host.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our latest trip to the wonderful city of York, I am so glad we found this B & B it is so convenient, (whereas on previous stays we have been a long 30 minute walk away. As has been said previously a great friendly atmosphere, and a huge breakfast, kept us going till ea, thanks Elizabeth we will be back to see you soon.

Room Tip: room number 7 has a small en-suite so it could be difficult for a person of less mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Elizabeth and Spiros make you feel welcome from the start and there is a generally relaxed feeling about this guest house. It is situated down a quiet side street but still only 10mins stroll from the city centre, slightly longer if you want a pleasant walk by the river.
Rooms are a nice size and in very good order, TV and Wi-Fi both working well.
There is a choice of full english breakfast or a continental type buffett, plenty of toast, tea or coffee either way. The full english was a good size, tasty and kept me going on our marathon visit to York!
All in all, a super convenient, pleasant base to take in this beutiful, historic city and will be at the top of my list for my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharkey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed. Elizabeth and Spiros run a tight ship, the room was snug but had everything we needed. The sherry in the entrance was a lovely touch and the sweeties just what we needed! Breakfast time with Spiros was a treat, looking after us really well and serving a good, hot, tasty breakfast. Great position, only three minutes walk to the Museum Gardens, very handy for a wedding at St Olaves! Very quiet, safe location, even walking back from the city centre late at night we felt safe. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Sycamore to anyone wanting reasonably priced accommodation in York.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingminstral10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Sycamore is a lovely old house in a quiet location. The room was for 3 people but only 2 of us ended going. It was clean and the bed's were very comfortable. We had found it difficult to find initially but that was down to my poor map reading skills. Elizabeth was very helpful in explaining our location and provided a map which was very helpful. We had a good cooked breakfast the next day with lots of coffee. My friend is a vegetarian and this was also catered for. This was an excellent base for exploring York as everywhere was close at hand but you weren't in a noisy location. The owners were freindly, plesant and helpful but not over the top and 'in your face'-just the right mix. I would recommend The Sycamore to friends visiting York.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights earlier this week and had a really lovely time. We stayed in Room 7 which has a King size bed and small, but perfectly formed, ensuite. Everything was clean, tidy and cozy, the breakfast was delicious and we received a very warm welcome from Elizabeth and Spiros. The house is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of York and you can get into town either by a stroll along the riverside or by cutting through the York Museum gardens. Although you are fairly close to the railway line you cannot hear it from this quiet street and you are well away from the main roads so it is lovely and peaceful. We had a very enjoyable stay and look forward to staying again in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a mega size bed and peaceful location at the back of the house choose Room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astra09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Sycamore is at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac only ten minutes' easy walk from either the city centre or the station. The twin room I shared was clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was OK and filling. Even if the en suite shower room was small, at least the shower worked.
Elizabeth and Spiros were very welcoming, Spiros living up to the Mediterranean stereotype! Generally a reasonable and reasonably-priced place to stay. If I could have given it three and a half stars, I would have - perhaps 'very good' is an overstatement, whicle 'average' doesn't quite do the Sycamore justice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMcDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
2.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,143 reviews
7.1 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sycamore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sycamore Guest House

Address: 19 Sycamore Place | Bootham, York YO30 7DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $97 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sycamore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian town-house, built around 1904, is a small family-run guest house in York. It is a 5-minute walk through the Museum Gardens to the Minster and city centre. The rooms feature tea and coffee making facilities, a flat-screen TV and free WiFi. Every morning, guests will enjoy a selection of breakfast options including full English breakfast. The Sycamore Guest House is 10 minutes' walk or a short taxi ride from York Railway Station with its excellent rail links to the rest of England. The guest house also offers guaranteed on-street parking opposite the house at the end of the cul-de-sac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sycamore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing