We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St Denys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Denys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The St Denys has a great central location with all of York's places of interest (Minster, Jorvik, Clifford's Tower, Shambles etc) within walking distance. It's opposite a lovely medieval church of which the hotel was once the rectory & off a street lined with excellent restaurants & a couple of good pubs, the best being the beamed Red Lion. It has its own small car park which is of huge benefit in view of York's restricted parking, so we were able to park up on arrival & then walk out each day to explore the city. The hotel is clean, comfortable & roomy with very pleasant & helpful owners. Our room looked freshly decorated & newly furnished & had comfy king sized bed, tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TV & hair dryer. The large en suite was provided with soap, shampoo & shower gel & had large mirrors on two walls which was great for hair & make-up. The only flaws were that, disappointingly, on the first day the wi fi would not work properly in our room, something I noticed other reviewers had remarked on, though thankfully it was fine the next few days. Also, parts of the hotel, such as the public corridors, are shabby & with chipped paintwork. However, as the hotel is still being refurbished under new owners this is bound to improve. Overall a great hotel in a great location & would definitely recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear 5Reddy, thank you so much for writing such a great review. We are so pleased to read you had a great stay and enjoyed our central location and the clean and comfortable bedroom. We're sorry that the WiFi was not working on your first day - we have since invested in a number of boosters which have improved the WiFi signal throughout the hotel and so hopefully if you were to return you would be able to stay connected. Amongst other things, we have renovated the corridors with fresh plaster, paint and locally sourced deep pile wool carpets. We would be delighted to see you again if you are ever in this neck of the woods. All best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    50
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
415
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The Scott sisters only recently took over this hotel but my goodness do they know what they are doing! Firstly after a totally horrendous journey up from Kent, my husband and I were a little tired but as soon as we were greeted at the door we were in a great mood. We were paid up and checked in within minutes and shown to our ground floor room with a four poster bed and huge bath! The room was fully stocked with both toiletries and tea/coffee, a kettle etc. and the room was just so comfortable. We were given a card with the wifi code (free) and a mobile number to call if we needed anything at any time (day or night) and we had a lovely little welcome letter left on our bed for when we arrived. There was always someone about to say hello, ask how we were doing and check if we needed anything but this was never over the top, it was just very genuine. The breakfasts were lively with a cold buffet and hit food and drinks order taken from you and served at the table (very delicious). All in all I don't think we could have picked a better hotel with its great service, ideal location and great owners. We will be back again and thank you for a great trip!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Lara S, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear you had such a nice time and that we were able to help make your stay in the centre of York memorable. We very much look forward to seeing you both again! All best wishes, Sophie and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingswinford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

just stayed at st denys for 3 nights. the twins are just brill and so helpful. hotel is clean but dated. but as the sisters have just taken over. the only way for this hotel is up the breakfast is second to none.and the hotel is easy walking to the city centre just 5mins. all i can say is give it a go .you will be well pleased like us

Room Tip: room 5 king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic310782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Vic, Julie, Bev, Paul, Bec and Chris, thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We are so glad to read you enjoyed your stay. We have been busy continuing to refurbish the hotel and so hopefully you would enjoy the changes we have made if you were to stay again. Hope to see you all again soon. All best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Scott sisters have recently taken over this place, which faces the exquisite Gothic church of the same name. They have much work to do, but even now it offers superb value: clean, fine breakfast, superbly situated. I greatly look forward to returning and watching the Scotts turn the pokey establishment they acquired into a first-class hotel. Their cheerful competence is a welcome change from the typical owners of typical B & B's.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Peter M, thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for such kind words. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the view of the beautiful church. We have been continuing to renovate the hotel and so hopefully you would enjoy the changes we have made to upgrade the bedrooms and public areas if you were to visit again. All very best wishes, Sophie and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a great welcome from the two sisters who have just taken over the hotel. They could not do enough to make our stay memorable. The room was clean and tidy - felt like a new bed and the bathroom had been re-fitted recently by the looks. The other furniture was a bit dated but so what. The girls have great plans for the communal areas in the hotel which do need updating. The breakfast was good and hearty. The central location is key. Everything in York old town is within walking distance with plenty of bars and restaurants. I would have no qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Ashley G, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have been busy since your trip continuing to upgrade the bedrooms and communal areas and so hopefully if you were to return you would enjoy the changes we have made. All very best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

stayed at st denys great friendly welcome just been taken over by 2 sisters rooms are very big everything you need in them great location 5 min walk to town centre and all the locations you need and breakfast where brilliant couldn't do enough for you thank you for the lovely stay I will be going back again .thanks maria and sophie

Room Tip: back bedrooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mr Green, thank you so much for your kind words. We're so glad you had such a great time and are looking forward to seeing you if you have a chance to visit again. All very best, Sophie and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hi we recently stayed at the st Denys in york as it has just been taken over by new owner i was pleasantly surprised to find the accommodation comfortable clean, and the staff very helpful,
even finding us a restaurant to eat for the evening we were staying. the breakfast was as you would expect plentiful and wholesome i would certainly recommend travelers to check out this quaint hotel

Room Tip: always look that the room has an en-suite and there is good stock of tea coffee available and your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear PGM1953, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel comfortable, clean, the staff helpful and breakfast wholesome. We very much hope to see you again soon! All best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Denys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Denys Hotel

Property: St Denys Hotel
Address: 51 St. Denys Road, York YO1 9QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Denys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Denys Hotel York is a stylish and friendly boutique hotel housed in a converted Victorian rectory with bags of character providing bed and breakfast in the centre of the historic walled city of York Ideally situated close to all York's many and varied attractions, in an area renowned for its thriving independent food and drink scene, the hotel provides a perfect base from which to explore the city. All bedrooms have luxurious beds with crisp white linen, a modern en suite bath or shower room with organic toiletries, flatscreen television with freeview, iPod dock, Nespresso machine and a great range of teas, coffees and a kettle. Some rooms have views of the ancient St Denys Church and others of hidden cityscapes. Go Deluxe King or Grand for bigger beds or four posters with more luxurious touches. Book direct for a locally sourced cooked breakfast and free wifi included in the room rate. Rates booked with the hotel include free parking off site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St Denys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing