We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed view”
Review of Jorvik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jorvik Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had read the mixed reviews of this hotel prior to booking, but decided its perfect location would suit us; and it did. The spa bath was great,( but we couldn't get the shower to be anything but boiling hot, ) the room was decent size and generally clean (but the layer of dust on the wall above bed we noticed as we woke in morning kinda spoilt that impression) the breakfast was good value for money...though we did chuckle at half a slice of black pudding. Every positive had a contradiction.
It was peaceful and quiet and even though there were a couple of stag and hen groups staying at the hotel we did not hear them. The hotel is very accommodating on leaving luggage prior/after checking in/out...an advantage to us due to our train times.

As with other reviewers it was the staff which slightly let the place down, and I can understand why there have been mixed reviews in this area; I have to say from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff attitude swung between 'couldn't be more helpful' and 'couldn't be bothered'; My partner and I found it amusing more than annoying; even at the cheapest of B&B's the receptionist has asked if we enjoyed our stay or other such pleasantries as we left...not at Yorvik Hotel. It is a little thing I know, but often the little things is what makes you want to come back to a place. If our check out had been friendlier we probably would have been inclined to mention the couple of things about the room; but the abruptness just made us want to leave.
We have discussed if we would stay there again, does the location outweigh the negatives and we decided no.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkiegirlAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 697 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

After a 3 hour train journey from Darlington finally arrived . This is the second time my friend and I have stayed at this hotel, yes it is basic but the room we had was very spacious and clean no 4, the staff are very friendly despite what other reviews say, the place has had a bit of a makeover since we were 2 year ago and they intend to do more.
Fantastic location handy for shops bars and resturants, Museum Gardens across the road and a 5 min walk and your on the riverbank. Breakfast good although I do wish hotels would provide teapots as I hate tea made in a cup.
All in all we had a fantastic one night break away and look out Jorvick and York we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemandpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at the Jorvik Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in the Jorvik Hotel on Sunday 25th August and I can honestly say what a lovely clean hotel, 2 lovely helpful male receptionists, fabulous location just over the road from the Museum Gardens and a minute from the river. Large car park around the corner where you can receive a discount voucher from the hotel. Rooms not particularly large but a huge comfy bed (Room 10) french doors leading to a small patio area, bathroom was lush, power shower and a jacuzzi bath. Definitely will be staying here again, little gem of a place. thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiddlesbroughJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I just had the 'pleasure' of paying through the nose to spend two nights over the August bank holiday weekend in this hotel. I wasn't expecting a luxury hotel, but at £100 a night (not even including breakfast), I had expected a shower that worked (it didn't, it was stuck on boiling hot), a comfortable proper double bed (it was two single beds shoved together). The room was uncomfortably hot, the window could only be opened a few inches. The floor was uneven with a wardrobe which was in danger of toppling over... It was in a good location however, only a few minutes from the railway station and the Minster, in a pleasant quiet street. If the owners were less greedy with their pricing, inkeeping with the basic nature of their hotel, they would probably get reasonable reviews, but as it is, we felt exploited and the hotel left a bad taste in the mouth. If you book this hotel, be prepared to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Good Atternoon

I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your recent stay here at the Jorvik Hotel. If i can address each of your points in turn.
As a hotel we do charge room only rates as many hotels in York do but we aslo have bookable rates that are inclusive of breakfast.
I am sorry that you had an issue with your shower. We have a full time maintance team here so that if any issues arise we can address them immediatly. I have check our maintance diary and can not see anything reported during your stay but we would have been more than happy to help had we have know about this issue.
Our beds are zip and links that are design for hotels so that each room can either have two single beds or when zipped and linked together they make one huge kingsize bed. We also upgraded ours to orthopedic matteresses to make them even more comfortable.
The floor in the bedroom you were staying in is very slightly un even at the entrance but this is due to us being housed in a listed building which dates back to 1759. We feel this adds to the character of the hotel.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for only one night, great location in the middle of york and right over the road from the lovely park and gardens, it is located on a very quite road and just 10 minutes walk from the station. The rooms are average but clean, breakfast was ok and the staff were friendly. I would say this hotel is 3star, its ok but needs updating a little, however saying that, yes i probably would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andpaulrossmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review on your recent stay here with us.
We are currently listed and graded as a three star hotel but we are in the process of moving forward with a upgrade on our rooms and public areas!!
I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

arrived at the jorvik hotel and we were greeted by the most unpleasant unfriendly person i have ever met at a hotel reception ,our room was nice but was discounted would of been disappointed to have paid full price for it, room 18 ...... wardrobe draw was dropping off , bathroom door was hard to close , empty pop bottles in room from previous occupents and no hairdryer , breakfast was very nice a good choice and staff more friendly than first impression, on leaving we had the same person again and after asking for a taxi which didnt turn up he was most unhelpful defo needs to go on a curtesy course and learn to have some rapour with guests costs nothing to smile and make you feel welcome which would make a huge first impression with guests first impression counts and he certainly made an impression ..... NOT

Room Tip: said JACUZZI dont be fooled room 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m100osy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

the best thing about this hotel is the location. we had a room on the front of the hotel which looked onto the museum gardens, at the bottom of the street is the river, and its not far from the minster and other attractions.
it would have been nice to have a hairdryer provided in the room, but after reading previous reviews i brought my own! i wouldn't complain about the temperature of the shower but the pressure was a little low.
breakfast was not included in price was good value for money.
would recommend this hotel as a good base for sight seeing

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666s_k_8_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do provide hair dryers. These are kept at reception. On request we are more than happy to take these to your room. Information on this is in the guest service directories provided.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Jorvik Hotel.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Address: 50-52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $72 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 26 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing