We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new favourite place! Can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in York
Preston
1 review
“Our new favourite place! Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

We chose to stay at The Churchill due to it's location and because it had a car park. But it's now so much more than that. I loved the building and the decor and the lovely little touches (even if you don't smoke just take a look at the smoking shelter - a snug kitted out with leather chairs - just brilliant!). The room (in the new extension) wasn't the biggest but was an adequate size and very nicely finished. The shower was, literally, breathtaking! As for the owner - rarely, if ever, have we been made to feel as welcome in a hotel..an extremely helpful and knowledgable discussion about the local area helped us find a perfect pub for the evening. We left feeling like our custom was appreciated and that is something very rare indeed in the "service" industry in this country. I have already spread the words amongst my friends, and hopefully we will be able to make a swift return!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    514
    257
    107
    63
See reviews for
205
1,134
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights for a midweek break - lovely rooms with modern facilities, immaculately clean, great breakfast's, very friendly & helpful staff. Great location approx 200m from City walls situated on Bootham, free car parking - 5 mins from City Centre but away from the hustle and bustle. Would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowtietowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Churchill. The hotel has lovely decor and atmosphere. The food and service was superb and it is ideally situated for sightseeing in York.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

The Churchill has been newly refurbished with lots of character and is in easy walking distance to the Minster, Museum Gardens and other tourist attractions. On arrival we were greeted warmly and remembered from a previous stay at the hotel. The room was clean, light and spacious, with modern facilities and a very comfortable bed. All the staff were very freindly, helpful and polite which made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenwood28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

On the 24th Jan 2009 myself and my then fiance got married at the Churchill Hotel. This hotel came highly recommended by friends of ours who live not far away from the hotel. When we were looking for a hotel to get married in the was our first to view (and last to view), we decided on the 1st visit that this was the hotel for us and we weren't dissapointed. John Wallace and the staff made this a most enjoyable day and our guest commented on how nice this hotel was. We were married at 5pm to allow guests to travel from far away and to make it a more relaxing day. Due to its central location it allowed guests to have a relaxing day in York and really make a weekend on it. The rooms have recently been revamped and are stylish and modern, we had the honeymoon suite (Obviously) which was a pretty large room not that I saw much of it as it was off limits all day on the Saturday, if I had anything bad to say about it was that the sash windows vibrate in the wind and let a lot of street noise in. We decided to go for a hot buffet of pie, peas chips and gravy which was beautiful followed by cheese boards on each table. The drinks prices were reasonable for hotel prices and everyone had a great time. The food at breakfast was beautiful as well and hit the spot after a boozing night before. We will be back next Jan 2010 for our anniversary meal as some friends of ours had dinner on the Friday before our wedding and said it was some of the best food they had ever had.

We'd certainly recommend the Churchill Hotel for anyone planning a trip to York, it's friendly, great location, nice clean rooms and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jofneytoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Nice hotel, clean tidy and staff pleasant. Our room was a bit on the small side, but we did'nt spend that much time in it.
Breakfast was OK, waitress very nice and friendly.
When we checked out, the gentleman who served us let us leave our car in the hotel car park for the day as they would not be busy until the evening.
One small problem, when we returned to the hotel after eating out we were going to have a night cap in the bar. The place was empty, both of customers and more to the point staff. Sat in the bar for 5 mins and no one turned up, looked out in to reception and no one was around. Decided to give up and go to bed, we could have helped ourselves if truth be told.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

I booked a dinner bed and breakfast package as a treat for my wife during half term week. A Standard Room on this package was £140 on lastminute.com. However, I wanted a superior room so rang the hotel direct who agreed a better room for an extra £20 which I agreed to. Upon arrival we were offered a four poster room for no additional charge (No10 Downing Suite!) which we gladly accepted. The room and hotel have retained all their victorian charm but with all the required mod cons such as new modern bathrooms and flat screen tv. Didn't know what to expect with the dinner package but we were offered the same menu as everyone else and had a good choice of freshly prepared local produce cooked and presented to a very high standard. The bar is quaint and offers a good selection and the wine list was comprehensive enough to deal with the menu choices. Breakfast in the morning was excellent as the hot food choices are freshly cooked to order (no big silver drums, the bain of my life!). I had a full english and my wife had eggs benedict and both were excellent. If I had to be picky we had to go through to another room to prepare our own toast! A little bit strange as everything else they are trying to do here shows attention to detail. This didn't detract from our overall stay experience and would definitely return. Recommend with confidence.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#15 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing