We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice hotel with plenty of character close to the city centre, staff are extremely helpful and friendly, food was to a high standard and reasonably priced. Rooms on the first floor on the small side but well equipped. Free parking and wifi, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnydays24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

All the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was excellent.

The evening meal was a real treat - fabulous food beautifully presented. Breakfast the following morning was also very good.

The free wifi was welcome too, although there are 2 iMacs in the lobby for the use of guests travelling without their own devices.

The location is good too - about a five minute walk to the city wall.

All in all it was a very good experience that I hope to repeat at some time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisatobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We expected a lot more from our EXECUTIVE room it was very small felt crampt 9ft by 9ft BED very small only a 3qtr bed not even a double now we are very sad !! and no comfort at all one chair not comfy pillows two tea bags per day one pack broken bicuits TO SHARE car park exeptionally overcrowded and tight to manouver by allowing other events going on and not taking residents parking into consideration no air con !! so when i opened window recycling bags were under our window not nice ! if theres a positive it was the shower MEGA !! Near to amenities We were shocked to find no breakfast in the price so IF BREAKFAST was include for the extortionate price we could have commented on its quality we wont be going back as other hotels nearby were far better and included breakfast we were very dissapointed on our return to york dont think after our experience we will be returning JOHN AND CHRIS WEST MIDLANDS

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvie461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear John and Chris,

I am truly sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations.

Whilst our guest's satisfaction is of paramount concern to us we must take issue with a couple of points raised;
-in double bedrooms all of our beds are at minimum a double in size.
-breakfast is available to book at extra cost but you chose the cheaper 'room only' rate when booking.
-we consider our room rates to be fair and actually feel that discounted August deals as low as £75 per room in the heart of the city with free parking should not be called extortionate.

I can assure you that in no way do we ever seek to mislead.
John
The Churchill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Management of this hotel do everything they can to make your stay pleasurable, the breakfasts, apart from the self service starters i.e. cereal, yogurts and toast, are served by waitresses from a chosen menu either full english or eggs benedict for example. Makes a change from over cooked food sitting in heated trays. The only problem is that the standard rooms are very very small, only one person in a bathroom at a time. We asked to be upgraded for a fee and were given the Marrakesh suite which was quite suitable. No air conditioning so we had the window open during the night which was not a problem as we were on the first floor. A five minute walk from the center and all the attractions. Coffee and tea making facilities in the room and toiletries supplies with large white fluffy towels. 15 Min walk from the station Good place to stay for your visit to York. The Raj restaurant 5 mins from hotel is a good indian restaurant and reasonably priced. At 6.30 in the evening it was almost full for a Monday.

Room Tip: Any of the suites is you need room to breathe!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbieMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Super place and more personal than most city hotels. We would definitely stay here again. Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The staff should be proud of their customer focus and helpful attitude...whatever you do please continue to work hard to keep that culture, its so important to your guests. Very near city centre, an easy 10 min walk and hotel has parking too. The highlight of our stay was the evening meal - outstanding. Huge well done to the chef. Our room (110) was fine but furniture could do with an update and there was little drawer space. No surfaces to put anything in the bathroom - could do with some shelves! Cooked breakfast was slow coming on one day but we think that was an exception. These were minor niggles but need to be noted by the owners. Have already passed hotel details to friends recommending they stay in the largest rooms available. We will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkielas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Churchill is set back from the busy road with free parking.
Very pleasant helpful staff .
Our twin room was small but well fitted and comfortable. It was also quiet which was a bonus.
Contrary to another reviewer, there is a lift.
The location is great. Walk straight down the road and in 10 minutes you're at the Minster. From there it's easy to explore the historic city centre.
We didn't eat there but were told by some locals that the food is wonderful.

Room Tip: Our twin room overlooked the car park, but it was quiet. Front rooms would face the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent three nights at The Churchill Hotel and in general we enjoyed our stay in lovely York. The Churchill has a lot going for it, but sadly has a few issues. The basics are right: beautiful old building, nicely refurbished, with good rooms that are well outfitted (except for the wonky tap in the bathroom), breakfasts were nice, staff pleasant and a five minute walk to York Minster. I would have rated it a lot higher had the service been better. The WiFi in our room was weak and therefore slow with frequent dropped outs. We had booked in for two people and only one set of towels was in the bathroom on arrival. We eventually found another towel in the closet, but then the next day housekeeping took two towels and replaced them with one. This time nothing in the closet. It then took two requests to the front desk over two hours before a second set arrived. And, when there is only liquid soap, a washcloth would be nice. The bar was lovely, but no one seems to be in charge of it. It was often left unattended. I spent from 4:30-5:30pm on Saturday in the bar using the WiFi (it’s better in the public areas). Over that time there were 4 staff in and out of the bar, but mostly out. Two customers came in and waited a good 5 minutes before asking the front desk for service. Then the woman from the front desk served them. The next evening after dinner, the story was much the same - different staff in the bar at different times with clearly no one responsible to be there and customers waiting for anyone of them to turn up. There were weddings on both nights and I got the idea they took priority over house guests. Small things? Perhaps, but when you are paying £150 a night you should be able to expect better service. I mean, even Premier Inns provide two sets of towels per room as the norm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#17 of 47 in York
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $101 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing