We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

booked here for its location and good reviews.me and my wife like to get about so we didn't use the bar area or well liked restaurant,the inside areas are sumptous and well presented and the staff friendly and efficient,a step up from the usual with parking included which is a plus in york.may try the dining next time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boothfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Brilliantly located, 5min walk from the city centre. Rooms small but modern and clean! Very friendly staff and if you stay here you must eat in the restaurant! The food is absolutely stunning!!! Will definitely stay again when we're next in York!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraIreland0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

After years of working around England and spending many nights in hotels i was shocked to find a 3 star hotel of this quality and value. However it gets even better, the piano restaurant is unbelieveable, 3 course fine dining for £29.95 i could not believe it. To start the rainbow trout was amazing and it got better when the main course arrived " seabass" it was cooked to perfection, excellent quality dish. The staff were very polite and attentive and made my stay a delight. I will be for sure returning to this fine establishment.. Many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale-cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked a standard room (and got a deal on it) but when we arrived we were told we'd been upgraded to the bridal suite which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. The bridal suite, like the rest of the hotel in general was fantastic and we had a great time. This review probably isn't representative of the rest of the hotel as we were given the best room in the place but we'll definitely be back...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The website says “executive rooms,” the bill says “standard rooms.” You’ll say – “Get me outta here,” unless you have the room to yourself. For two people, everything is so small and cramped it will color all your other impressions of the Churchill.

The room is small; the bed is small; the bathroom is small. There’s not even enough space for the towels—if you even find the 2nd towel, which is likely to be in a plastic storage bag in the closet. Maybe they’re not expecting a 2nd guest in these rooms? To make it worse, the room was too hot and the duvet too heavy and hot. (To be fair, the shower is generously sized and the overhead lamp in the bathroom doubles as a glowing nightlight—a good idea that it would be great to see more hotels adopt.)

It’s a pity because the rooms, like the hotel, are generally smartly turned out and the staff are efficient and friendly. Dinner at a fixed price of £29.95 is ok but not memorable. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and it’s a good one.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless one of their larger rooms is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanDerMeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Don't stay here if you want to sleep! The noise of the air-conditioning / generator or whatever made it impossible to sleep and the only person on duty was a very unhelpful night porter, who insisted there was nothing he could do to help.

Room Tip: Avoid room 115!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had booked a room for 26th October 2012, but unfortunately had to cancel. I called to cancel the booking the day before, but was told that I would still have to pay the full amount due to their cancellation policy, which I felt was not clearly displayed on the website. However, the hotel agreed to try and re-book the room for me in an attempt for myself to avoid the charge. Up until this point I was still content with paying the charge as I was in the wrong, however after checking the website to see that there were no rooms available, I thought it had been sold. I later contacted the hotel to confirm this, only to be told that there were still advertising for three empty rooms. They had insisted that they updated the website, and stating there was a technical error as to why it wasn't showing up. I have still been charged for the room that they had not even advertised, and feel this is very unfair. I realize that I was initially I was the one at fault, but I now feel very cheated. I will not be staying at this hotel ever, and I will warn others of this.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#19 of 47 in York
1,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#13 of 47 in York
1,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,150 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $61 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing