We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, well worth a return visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #21 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Located within 2 minutes of York minster and the fabulous old town, the coch house is perfect for your stay in York, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel like vip's, nothing was too much trouble, from the welcome to advice on what to see and do. If you are looking to stay in York, this immaculate, friendly hotel is a must !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themccallfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear McCall family. The ladies and I really love it when people come to stay here and have relaxation, good food, restful sleep and happy memories. It gives us immense "job satisfaction" Thank you for taking the time in this busy busy world to write a great review.
Kind regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 661 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Last week again stayed at the Coach House Hotel in York, as always lovely stay, lovely welcoming staff who were always happy to help.On our first night had dinner in the restaurant which we had arranged earlier at reception the food was home cooked and delightful. Breakfast was very good freshly cooked to order and the range of cereals yogurts and fruits excellent.Staff were attentive and the teas and coffees were of a high quality.My room was spotless and the bed very comfortable, an added bonus to the Hotel is it's location just outside the city walls which makes walking into the centre a pleasure rather than a long trek. The car park is a great addition as this saves on parking costs in the busy city centre.While I was staying a large wedding party arrived and the staff were wonderful at sorting out all there requests and requirements. The complimentary tea, coffee and home made cake served in the comfortable lounge is a very nice touch and allows guests to read the papers and look at the many leaflets displayed on York's attractions.I always stay in this comfortable Hotel when visiting York and will be doing so again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Sue, thank you for your lovely review. It really makes us smile when the guests are happy and
have had a nice time with us. We look forward to seeing you again shortly and thank you for my gift which I have placed on my dressing table.
Kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Enjoyed our stay just as much as our visit last year, Staff and management very helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast, lots of choice. Rooms maybe small, but they are clean and comfortable. Ideal for seeing the sights of York, park the car at the hotel a 5 minute walk and you are at the minster. Will be staying again on our next visit to York.

Room Tip: Top floor Room 13 you can gaze at the stars before going to sleep while lying in bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thankyou Steve for your lovely review, it really makes us proud to be part of a winning team and I will show the staff your most welcome compliments.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had a lovely stay at this hotel which is a 17th century coach house conveniently placed within walking distance of all the attractions York offers. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Once we were shown to our room we were able to go downstairs to the lounge to enjoy complimentary tea or coffee and delicious home made cake. Nothing is too much trouble to the staff. There is a good selection for the cooked breakfast in any combination you like which was delicious. There is a small car park at the rear. Due to booking our room late we could only get the attic room where the en-suite was a little small, however, the rooms are clean and comfy. We look forward to going again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thankyou Michael. thankyou for the lovely review. When you re-book telephone your reservation and ask for a larger room, if we can manage to give you a bigger room we will, also mention that you have stayed with us previously.
Kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

returned to the coach house in December 2013, solo, and with my family in April 2013, and have rebooked solo for December 2013. it really is one of the best hotels in the uk for the atmosphere, the welcome, the breakfasts, and the uniqueness of the building. The staff are incredibly good, nothing is too much trouble for them. It is also so close to the Minster and the centre of York, that everywhere is within walking distance. The owner Julie is brilliant and by far the best looking hotelier in the UK !!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: book very, very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyeaterNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Me oh My !!! ......thankyou for the compliment, You have absolutely made my day! Next time I'm feeling "washed-up and over the hill" I will think of your review and hope you never catch me on a bad day.
Thankyou for being so nice.
Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a lovely old hotel within walking distance of most of York's attractions. The building itself is an interesting maze of stairways. The rooms are neat and clean with all one could need including tea making but there is also tea, coffee and cake available in the sitting room downstairs. The breakfast is great and we also had an evening meal one night which was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. We'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie437_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thankyou Annie for your lovely review. When I first walked into the Coach House (many years ago) I was moved by its charm. There is something about this building which is very special, History, happiness and charm. The Minster bell ringing practice on Tuesday evenings,
the botabical gardens across the road, the Abbey Walls and St Olaves Church, which dates back to the Tudor period all add to the magical beauty of Marygate.
Thankyou.
regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

After a fantastic xmas here we had a long weekend for the viking festival, food was excellent as normal, staff wonderful as norm, everywhere clean and fresh, rooms tended to each day, complimentaries each day, cant wait to go back again this xmas. Would totally recommend it for everyone so friendly.

Room Tip: Have been in several different rooms all are very good, you can have minster views or quite back roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueandytipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear libpixie, thank you for your lovely review. I used to live in the annex (up stairs flat) and my daughter lived in the downstairs flat. It was a long time ago....... and one of the happiest of times. It is a lovely location and on a Tuesday evening you can hear the Minster bells.
Kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 194 in York
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 194 in York
1,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 194 in York
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $103 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing