We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Minster Walk Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
$233
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$89
$79
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
$197
$84
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$174
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
$117
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$144
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveler rating
482
143
34
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
143
34
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housecoffee and cakehome made cakesmuseum gardensbrowniemulled winehomemade breadcity centrefree parkingon arrivalcar parkfour poster bedlittle toucheslots of characterlovely touchshort walkquiet street
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 680 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Only stayed one night here but really had a great time, would go back again and certainly will recommend to friends and family.
Positives:
Great location- just a two minute walk from the minster.
Extremely friendly staff- everyone was so welcoming and you really felt that they wanted you to feel at home.
Price- very reasonable and included free parking plus as much coffee, tea and cake you could eat!
Breakfast- lovely.

The only drawback is that the walls and ceilings are quite thin so you could hear other guests walking around in the room above but it is an old building so it's to be expected.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you its a Fantastic place to work in also. The Coach house has a charm which is almost part of the 300 year old walls, it makes me feel happy as soon as I walk through the front door.
Kind Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a weekend break. It really is quaint and ideally situated for getting to the Minster and the other sights of York, which are fantastic. The hotel was very comfortable and very clean, and the staff were so friendly and helpfull. Lela recommended a couple of pubs for eating in the evening and they were great, good food and good value for money, we especially liked the Black Swan. We loved the yummy cake and coffee (or tea and green tea) that were available in the lounge when we arrived on the Friday and got back to the hotel in the afternoons. The breakfasts are cooked to order, they were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The seating area around the bar and lounge was very comfortable and just seemed so suited to York rather than being in a sterile modern hotel.
All of the rooms seem to be different and yes the one we were in was small, but we had read the reviews before we had booked so it did not come as a suprize. The only negative side to our weekend was unfortunately who ever was booked in the room above us for the two nights were noisy, I am assuming it must have been an attic room. Because the hotel is so old there are very creaky floorboads, our first night we were woken about 3 times by heavy footsteps from above at different times (we assumed they were getting up to use the bathroom). The Saturday night/Sunday morning we were woken at 5.00am and there was continuos creaking, thumping, drawers opening and shutting and voices, we assume they were packing and leaving early, the noise evenually stopped about 6.30am! If there was no one above us, maybe the Inn is haunted?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Yes our location is really good. When adverts say a short walk sometimes it is a long walk! but the Coach House really is a short walk to all the main attractions whilst still being quiet at night.
kindest Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

With views of the Minster this is just a great place to stay to see the city. Our room (2) was a little small but it was ok for a short stay. Food, bed and hospitality were second to none.

There is room for about 6 cars round the back but it is tight squeeze.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gadget-Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Can`t fault it. Very friendly and cosy, the rooms are comfortable and very clean. Fabulous breakfast with everything you can think of. Only a short walk to the minster and all the many shops.All the staff are friendly and are there if you should need anything. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Jackie, thankyou for your lovely review, because I feel the cold I have to have the heating on high which makes the hotel cosy and welcoming. Cakes are a big addiction of mine which is why ours have to be home made and plentiful! infact I try to give the guests here everything I would want myself including comfy beds and fabulous English breakfast.
Kindest regards,
Julie
P.S. forgot to mention the local Ale, no holiday would be complete without some.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Service excellent, room comfortable and bathroom spotless. There were coffee and cakes waiting downstairs after we unpacked. The atmosphere is great, its a 300 year old coaching inn.
The bar was good, breakfast excellent, and the seating areas downstairs were comfortable and user friendly. Just light music in the background and no tv blasting away. Would definitely go back again. The service was excellent and check in and out efficient. Guaranteed parking, which is a rarity in that area.

Room Tip: We had twin bed which was rather small, but apparently there are bigger double rooms. The road is very quiet, we had no disturbing noise either late on or early in the morning.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jengill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Jen
Thankyou for the lovely review. I like to think we are a happy team here and when we receive good reviews from our guests it makes us even happier. We live in busy times and when people take the time to be nice its really great.
Thankyou once again,
Kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews