We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #20 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed one night at the Coach House and found it charming. One or two negative points but the positive made up for them. Staff were very friendly and accomodating, in fact the whole hospitality was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome. Excellent breakfast with really good choices. One negative is size of room, quite small but for one night adequete; Shower was poor but we did have a bath. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi Linda, Thankyou for your review, I am pleased you will recommend our "little charm" to others!
Yes some rooms are small, some are medium and some are large this being a 17th centuary building and we do tend to keep the larger rooms for repeat guests. I am very pleased you found our staff friendly and accommodating, we really are a happy team.
Kindest Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 661 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and had a fabulous time!
Everyone was really friendly - the breakfast was wonderful, so it is a shame that the restaurant is no longer open in the evening. Even though the hotel is straight onto the street, the lack of through traffic means that it is really quiet. The pub next door is well worth a visit!
The location is terrific and York is a fabulous city to visit. Do have a hot chocolate and brandy as a night cap at the hotel - fabulous !

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Tracey,
Thankyou for the lovely review and the pics....I am really pleased you had a great time. I will show the girls and we hope to see you again.
kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

You can't really beat the location; it is less than five minute's walk to York Minster. The staff clearly care about giving a good service and making you feel welcome and they were more than helpful during wedding preparations. There are generous and interesting rooms- I stayed in the Annexe which is a self contained flat. We ate good food in the evening (plus excellent breakfasts) and stayed up late drinking in their cosy bar.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkRJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Mark,
The weather was wonderful for this wedding I remember it well! and I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the food.
Kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went away for a much needed rest and couldn't have chose a better place to stay. Rooms immaculate, location perfect, tea-time cakes delicious, excellent choice for breakfast, beer very nice and staff possibly the most welcoming I have met in 40 years of holidaying in England.
What more can I say

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve&Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Steve and Maureen, Thankyou for your wonderful review, yes carolines cakes take some beating don't they! I think "Betty's" need some of her recipies especially for the chocolate and fresh ginger choccies. Thankyou once again and I will make sure all the girls read your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Arrived here without booking things were a bit upside down as they had the painters in but the warm and friendly welcome was 2nd to none so we decided to stay for 2 nights rooms are of good quality and very clean did not get to sample evening meal ( next time maybe ) This hotel is in the centre of York with free private parking. Thank you Julie & all your staff for making us feel at home
will recommend this hotel to everyone. Regards Watty & Michaela. ( hope to see you all again after the season is over )

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Watty and Michaela,
Thanyou for the lovely review, I remember showing you to your room and I am really pleased you had a relaxing time here inspite of the decorators! Yes lets hope this season is a good one ....helps pay for the up-keep! Kind regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The write-up looked inviting and proved to be 100% correct. Julie was the perfect hostess and Caroline's complimentary cake is soooo... delicious !! We felt "at home" the minute we walked into the building and as far as we are concerned we could not contemplate anywhere else to stay in York. Perfect in every sense.

Room Tip: We had Room 9 which we would try to avoid on future visits due to it being on the small side. Having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Roy, thankyou for being so ...nice!.... yes we are a bit quirky and some rooms are small ...however we like to think that all in all we still have great appeal. When you return ask for rooms 4, 8, 1 and 21 which are bigger rooms. Glad you enjoyed Carolines cakes she also makes the choccies in the bedrooms which I am sure keep me plump but happy!
regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here 2nd feb until 5th Feb with friends. The hotel and staff are super, the hotel is very comfortable and clean. The staff are very tentative. We did miss the buffet breakfast this time, but it was just as nice and plenty of choice. Also no evening meals but that didn't matter because the location is so central we parked the car and didn't use it until home time. There are some lovely places to eat and drink within walking distance. Thank you Julie and your team of staff. A very enjoyable weekend was has by all. Hope to visit again soon.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CJH335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thankyou for the lovely review, because we have very many wonderful restaurants literally on our "doorstep" we find our guests are happy to stroll to the wide variety on offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 194 in York
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 194 in York
1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 194 in York
853 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $103 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing