We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in the centre of York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #20 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from my 7th stay at the Coachouse Hotel in York yet again great service, lovely rooms, very clean, comfortable beds,and great food which is home cooked. Staff lovely and they,went out of their way to help my elderly mother who has walking problems by offering cups of tea and cake and a room on the ground floor. The food was lovely great buffet at breakfast with good quality foods and beverages, dinner was great we had friends come to the hotel to eat with us and they all enjoyed it great location to the city and free car parking . A great break and we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, clean, quiet and have tea and coffee facilties and lovely comfortable beds...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Minster Walk Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 652 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have just had a very pleasant stay at the Coach House Hotel in York. The hotel was very helpful and as we were staying for a whole week we were moved to the self contained flat down the road, which was ideal and we still had breakfast at the hotel and could park our car there. The hotel was ideally situated to explore York and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Although the car park was small the staff competently moved the cars around when you needed to get out. We ate at the restaurant a couple of evenings and the food was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Superb hotel with lots of character and features. Staff were exceptionally friendly who went out of their way to help and advise & make the stay perfect- Lela particulary was super efficent & friendly. Clean luxurious rooms. Excellent breakfast with much choice. Complimentary tea & coffee on arrival. Can't wait to stay again...!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laralalalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

if you want a four star hotel then dont stay here, but if you want four star service,food,friendliness then this is the place for you.the coach house is old and creaky with lots of atmosphere it is five minutes from the minster and ten minutes from the railway station,there is a pub next door if required and i would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back if noise bothers you as the pub chucks out quite late
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Janet,
Thankyou for your positive review. The pub next door is a great place and they send us business and we send them business which is how things should operate. Our close proximity to all the main attractions is a big plus and I think our staff are the most accommodating and friendly because they enjoy their work and it shows! Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just returned home from 5 days at the Coach House and already looking forward to the next time.
Excellent room, clean and bright, and well maintained by the staff, the food was excellent and again brilliant waiters and waitresses, nothing is too much trouble for them. Julie, the owner is a fantastic lady, totally committed and focussed on maintaining the high standards within the Coach House. Our waitress Katie was fantastic, All in all a brilliant welcoming atmosphere and would suggest that it would be impossible to not enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyeaterNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Hello lovely couple (we have nominated you our favourite welsh couple) Thankyou for your review I will show it to the girls and "our Keith"
Next time we will provide you with a larger better room, Katie sends her regards and kindest regards from the rest of us,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a lovely trip to York and the location of the place was perfect for getting into town and for seeing the friends we were visiting. The service was wonderful and friendly, and the rooms were comfortable and accomodating. They were well looked after & clean and the value for money was excellent. I would definately stay again, and would recommend to others for a lovely stay in York!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Keen T,
Lovely to read your review, the staff are very happy to know their hard work is appreciated and I am pleased you found our prices reasonable (very important in this climate). Many thanks,
regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We have enjoyed our trip to York because "the sun always shines in the Coach House" according to Julie the owner and it really is a cheerful place. We would certainly recommend it to friends and family!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rach090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Rach090,
Many Thanks for your review, we are a happy team here and hope a little ray of sunshine is still with you as you leave our small hotel!
Kind Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 194 in York
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 194 in York
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 194 in York
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 194 in York
387 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $106 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing