We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
York
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
351
268
64
19
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
351
268
64
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre museum gardens car park quiet street top floor free parking quiet cul de sac good size an evening meal lovely hotel short walk bootham bar four poster bed full english york minster excellent location bath shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 706 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Fabulous location friendly staff but needs updating. As a previous reviewer stated this is not a 4 star hotel, it is a B&B.... I would recommend it for it's location as it is only 10 minutes away from the railway station and the city centre.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019 via mobile

A number of things to write about this hotel.

The good first.

Room was spacious; tidy and comfortable
The staff are excellent. It’s an old fashioned type hotel - but all are friendly and helpful. Great work in the breakfast room.
Breakfast is excellent. Great choice and good food.
Public areas are typical of a grand old fashioned hotel.
Parking and location are superb. A real bonus.
Not many not so greats. The hotel does need updating. It’s getting a bit tired. Wallpaper hanging a little in the room. The headboard of the bed hasn’t been cleaned/dusted in a long time.
Overall worthy of a stay. It quite worth the money. But if you are looking for a balanced location this is it.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019 via mobile

What a delightful little B&B.. down a little road but with free parking behind it..Short walk through the park and you are in city centre. Had room on top floor, a double bed and a single. Tea making stuff, though I did fetch my own... room was not over heated, lovely old build8 g, such a charming reception and lounge area.. Breakfast was delicious, full English with all trimmings.. There is a lift to all bedrooms. And they allowed us to leave car in car parking area till we had finished shopping at 4pm..

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Gilbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2019

Stayed here a few weeks ago, having been to York for a few day trips we fancies a two day end of week stopover. Finding a hotel in walking distance of the centre, with a car park and one being affordable was a challenge, even though this was for Thursday/Friday night. Booking was easy, although payment was taken before we landed, and it did say on the booking details, pay on arrival !. Booking in was efficient, and the room on the ground floor was fine, didn't want a shared bathroom and I think the more exotic rooms had already been taken. Location is perfect. Parking great and signposted just before the hotel. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, however my 'Good Morning' to the person behind reception was met with a grunt. The breakfast waitresses were far more pleasant and efficient and the breakfast was good. So all positives really apart from one point, this is not a hotel, unless the bar is hidden away somewhere, we could not see it. So if you dine and drink out you will be fine.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank QuattroDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019 via mobile

Stay here very regular. Always room to get in and plenty of parking at the back.
Stay very friendly and helpful and nothing ever too much trouble.
Superb location as 5 mins walk into the city centre.
The Rooms are always very warm and comforting.
First time ever had that we had some very noisy people staying next door, but never complain as its not the hotels fault in any way.
Thats people for you lacking in respect for others and Can happen anywhere.
Its a very friendly, homely and relaxed place to stay. Recomended to all who read.
Thanks to all staff.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank si237g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews