We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, comfortable and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my mum have now been coming to York for Christmas shopping for 3 years. We chose the Alhambra Court because it looked so homely and inviting. The rooms are comfortable, clean and cosy. Food in the restaurant is excellent and it's a great place to come back after a day of shopping to relax. The staff are so nice and go out of their way to be helpful, for example we met a couple whilst out and about, we forgot to swap numbers. The gentleman sent the hotel and an email in search of help getting a message to us and they did! Over and beyond what we expected. We'll be coming back that's for sure!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 530 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have been to this hotel for over 10 years it's perfect to explore York, the staff are friendly and make your stay perfect, the food is very good and the rooms are warm and very comfortable. It is a perfect place to stay and reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel like your living room , cosy comfortable and very friendly. Amazing food duck in port n berry sauce thank u for a lovely friendly stay. Close to main city centre ample psrking, easy to find

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here at the end of November to explore the Christmas markets.
My single room was perfectly sized with ample space to walk around and plenty of storage (wardrobe, dressing table and bedside cabinet). The room was warm and clean, although the bath was a little damaged.
The evening meal was fantastic, and breakfast was served promptly by very attentive staff.
Having stayed at a 'big name' hotel several years ago and being very disappointed, I was more than happy with this hotel.
So much so that I've booked again to return for the Christmas markets in 2014!
I think this deserves more than 2 stars!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPreston29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have just came back from another stay at this lovely hotel. Can't speak too highly of it, really; the rooms are spotlessly clean, warm and very homely. The staff can't do enough for you and the breakfasts set you up for the day before you venture into York (there is a spacious car park just behind the hotel, which is great when we can park as soon as we get into York after driving down from Carlisle.) Also, it's only five minutes; at most; away from The Minster, so it's location is perfect!). It has a really nice, warm and relaxed atmosphere, with a traditional feel to it and the kind of service that you really don't get in many hotels these days. We would recommend The Alhambra court to anyone who wants a great hotel that doesn't cost you the Earth. We have stayed several times over the last four years or so, and will be back again, hopefully in The Spring.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms that we have stayed in are great (we have stayed in many of them over the past few ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tom w j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This isn't a 'posh' hotel so don't expect it to be luxurious but it is comfortable, friendly and very close to the centre of York. It has its own car park (a bonus in York, where most hotels within walking distance of the City only have expensive on-street parking) and the breakfast was lovely. We stayed in Room 16 last year, which has nice views onto the street but this time were in Room 19 which was perfectly acceptable but unfortunately only had a view onto the wall of the building next door, although we weren't actually in the room long enough for it to bother us. Slightly chilly when we arrived (radiators hadn't been turned on) but that was the only negative and it soon warmed up. We will be certainly be heading here again when we next return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneDayIllBeRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed three nights first morning waited ten minutes to be served this was ok second morning 45 minutes to be served and third morning 30 minutes.Waitresses did not have a clue and need training they did not know who to serve first. Bedroom carpet was dirty and needed hoovering.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $82 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing