We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite hotel in our favourite city!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alhambra Court

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alhambra Court
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel in our favourite city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have just came back from another stay at this lovely hotel. Can't speak too highly of it, really; the rooms are spotlessly clean, warm and very homely. The staff can't do enough for you and the breakfasts set you up for the day before you venture into York (there is a spacious car park just behind the hotel, which is great when we can park as soon as we get into York after driving down from Carlisle.) Also, it's only five minutes; at most; away from The Minster, so it's location is perfect!). It has a really nice, warm and relaxed atmosphere, with a traditional feel to it and the kind of service that you really don't get in many hotels these days. We would recommend The Alhambra court to anyone who wants a great hotel that doesn't cost you the Earth. We have stayed several times over the last four years or so, and will be back again, hopefully in The Spring.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms that we have stayed in are great (we have stayed in many of them over the past few ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom w j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    185
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
64
262
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This isn't a 'posh' hotel so don't expect it to be luxurious but it is comfortable, friendly and very close to the centre of York. It has its own car park (a bonus in York, where most hotels within walking distance of the City only have expensive on-street parking) and the breakfast was lovely. We stayed in Room 16 last year, which has nice views onto the street but this time were in Room 19 which was perfectly acceptable but unfortunately only had a view onto the wall of the building next door, although we weren't actually in the room long enough for it to bother us. Slightly chilly when we arrived (radiators hadn't been turned on) but that was the only negative and it soon warmed up. We will be certainly be heading here again when we next return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneDayIllBeRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed three nights first morning waited ten minutes to be served this was ok second morning 45 minutes to be served and third morning 30 minutes.Waitresses did not have a clue and need training they did not know who to serve first. Bedroom carpet was dirty and needed hoovering.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a decent hotel, friendly and helpful.
Not top of the range but that's not what we were expecting, but good value.
The radiators needed bleeding but that was about the only issue.
Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EalingHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very good location for walking into York. Large car park to the rear, No traffic noise. Friendly staff on reception and in the dining room.
Room disappointing especially the en-suite bathroom, needed a thorough clean, smelt damp.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

A ten minute walk from the railway station, and a similar distance from York Minster made it the perfect location for our visit to the city. The hotel is situated in a cul de sac, so there is no traffic noise. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable. We slept really well.
The staff are welcoming and friendly. The house is huge, decorated in grand style, and because it was a day before Halloween, the breakfast room was decorated with spooky effects.We will definitely stay here again when we return to York.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good value for money. Very good location with free parking. Excellent breakfast, staff very friendly. Restaurant food also good. Don't expect top grade rooms but was clean and very quiet.
Could not fault the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court

Property: Alhambra Court
Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alhambra Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing