We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good location, short walk to the city centre. Staff were friendly. breakfasts were good.I would recommend the Alhambra for it's location. There is a lift which to the upper levels which made it good, especially for my father who has trouble with stairs. There is a comfortable lounge,with daily newspapers provided. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 524 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location, very clean and friendly hotel. This hotel has an old world charm that makes you want to return again and again. Breakfast was lovely, only regret was not having an evening meal there .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in one of the "attic" rooms facing the rear car park. It was spotlessly clean and the bedroom room itself was light and airy. The en-suite bathroom was perfectly adequate although the grouting around the bath could do with being replaced. Room facilities were good, plenty of storage space and the twin beds were comfortable. Flat screen TV mounted on wall meant no loss of space and comfy armchairs also provided. The trains mentioned by other reviewers stopped between 11 pm and 6am and were not a problem.
The dining room had to be accessed by a flight of 17 stairs but provided excellent meals. The breakfast choice was varied and tasty - best bacon I've had for a while! We had one evening meal which was beautifully cooked and enjoyed by all and the menu offered a good choice. The fact that they require pre booking shows that food is bought in to order and avoids waste too often found in restaurants.
All staff were most helpful and friendly, basically nothing seemed to be any trouble. The location was ideal and meant we could leave the car and walk into the centre. We look forward to a return visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Alhambra is not a luxury hotel and some aspects are a little tired but our party of 7 enjoyed our stay.
I’ll get the negatives out of the way first. We experienced a couple of instances of being able to smell drains, on arrival in our room (No.21) and at another time in the reception area. Our ensuite had no window but the room cleared after leaving the light and quiet extractor fan on overnight.
The bedroom and ensuite floors all creak. I doubt this is an intentional feature to fit in with York’s many ‘haunted’ themes!
Although there is a lift to all bedrooms it does not go down to the restaurant and bar and so the hotel is not suitable for those who cannot manage stairs.
The positives?
All the staff are very friendly and polite. All queries were answered and some specific information was ‘Googled’ to help us. We cannot criticise the staff or service in any way.
The hotel is located only a few minutes away from the centre of the city and has ample free parking to the rear.
Breakfasts were good but choice limited. We had an evening meal in the hotel and that was excellent – very good food, nicely presented in an unhurried and relaxing atmosphere before moving into the bar area. Meals, wines and beers are sensibly priced.
Our rooms were on the top floor and in addition to a normal opening window the skylights have blinds to stop direct sunlight which could soon heat the room to unpleasant temperatures. They can be opened for ventilation. This gave a lovely breeze despite the hot weather.
The bedrooms have the amenities as described on the website and we were pleased to find Christian Bibles provided.
The railway passes close to the rear of the Alhambra but the few trains we heard were not troublesome – they all seemed to be going slowly presumably due to just leaving or arriving at York station. The whole place is pretty quiet with the noisiest thing being the pigeons at dawn.
The ground floor lounge is comfortable and as a guest with back problems the numerous cushions were appreciated. Daily papers are provided. Also on the ground floor is the ‘Garden room’. This is a second lounge – overlooking the garden which is accessed down a few steps and is quite pleasant. There is limited seating on a single bench in the garden that isn’t particularly comfortable but hey – it’s a bench!
The bottom line … In my opinion the Alhambra is overpriced as far as the hotel and rooms are concerned but the friendliness of staff, good car parking and closeness to York centre deserve an overall recommendation and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear (No.21) have pleasant views and top-floor rooms have opening skylights giving good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pondlife_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is only a short walk through the park to the city centre,with a free car park to the rear,for 15 to 20 cars.It retains a lot of original Georgian features,and has a lift to the upper floors,which is welcome for those with heavy bags or shopping.There is a comfortable lounge,with daily newspapers provided.The breakfasts are substantial,with a varied choice,served 7.30 to 9.30am.The evening meal,which has to be ordered at reception by 6pm,offers a choice of starter,main course and desserts.The rooms are okay(,but I,ve had bigger,)and the bathroom seemed a little cramped.I would recommend the Alhambra for it,s location and free parking alone,as many York hotels are based too far from the centre and attractions.The lady on reception was very nice and welcoming.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billyspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good location close to central York, 10 minute walk to centre shops, restaurants, minster etc. Double rooms are spacious but cheaper attic rooms are very warm in the current clime. Bathrooms are basic with low pressure showers. Standard british brekkie included and ample free parking.

Room Tip: Don't go for an attic room in hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just stayed here again, for 2 nights. We had 2 rooms (8 and 21) and they were both very pleasant again. The situation of the hotel is excellent - 5 minutes from the walls - and the staff are helpful and friendly. The only slight drawback is that the car park is very tight and can seem full. However, we have always managed to squeeze in somewhere! We have looked at booking other hotels in York but have never found anywhere which seems as good value for money and we have always been satisfied with this hotel. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,382 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $83 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing