We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be better”
Review of Minster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minster Hotel
Ranked #23 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent location, literally a couple of minutes from the Minster itself and all the shops.

Superb breakfast, friendly and very helpful staff.

To top it all the hotel has private parking available as well.

Absolutely recommended to all and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank berkstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice easy walking distance to everything. Good room size with four poster bed and lovely bathroom with a bath. Unfortunately, we were out in the Lodge which is separate to the main hotel and in the car park. The people in the room next door must have either been deaf and their tv was on so loud or there was very little sound insulation between rooms.
The staff could not have been friendlier, they were all lovely and the breakfast was very good. If we were staying in York again, I would certainly return but perhaps ask to be within the main hotel next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We thought the location of this hotel was ideal with the valued extra of free parking and literally 5 mins walk into York near the Minster. All the staff were really friendly and helpful and the room was perfectly adequate for our needs at a great price too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnnyGandLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed 14th/15th nights[room 10]whole stay good,breakfast service fine,guy taking orders for breakfast a proper character,every table he went to you heard people laughing,is there a better way to start the day ?
reception staff also very good,overall no complaints whatsoever

Room Tip: get room 10 [at the top unfortunately,but it keeps you fit !] but very quiet and comfy room at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clegan1golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We traveled with my wife's elderly (not very mobile) parents and booked here due to its close location to the town. I telephoned and explained about the mobility issues due to the stairs in this hotel and we were given outside rooms near the car park. They loved it. No stairs. The staff in this hotel are 1st class and go the extra mile to help. Breakfast is good and arrives hot. Free parking in York is always a bonus too. We will return to this hotel next year.

Room Tip: Outside rooms are ideal if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim10SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is the third succesive December that we have stayed at The Minster Hotel. Must be good as we keep going back, and it is. Comfort, location (5 minutes walk and you are inside the walled city), breakfasts (set you up for the day), exceptional staff (helpful and polite nothing is too much effot or trouble for them. It is the perfect location for a visit to the perfect city. Yes, you guessed it - just returned and already planning our trip for December 2013. Christmas starts here.

Room Tip: Go for the four poster rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BARRIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012



Having just spent the weekend in this hotel we can fully recommend it as possibly one of the best small hotels my wife and I have stayed in. Upon arriving at the hotel a couple of hours to early and thinking that we would not be able to check-in we were greeted by one of the best smiles and welcomes. The receptionist was as proved later so very helpful and we felt genuine, "very refreshing" in fact all of the staff were so happy and accommodating with all of our requests.

Our room over looked the car park to the rear of the hotel and located upon the second floor accessible by a lift in the section of the hotel. The room it's self was very clean and not too small that you are falling over each other, very tastefully furnished, clean and warm although if I had a complaint it would be the wardrobe was a little small for hanging our clothes, but that could be our fault taking too may items away with us. It is unfortunate that the water pressure was low when taking a shower, but we were informed this is being addressed in January 13.

The breakfast being a full English was nothing less than brilliant, the eggs were the best fried eggs that I have ever had in a hotel and that includes Claridges in London.

There are some major chain hotels that could learn from the staff of this hotel.. Well done!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Hotel

Address: 60 Bootham, York YO30 7BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $105 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Minster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive in, park your car in our secure car park, check in and you are now in the ideal place to enjoy your stay in York. With the very best of the warmth and 'Olde Worlde' charm of the Victorian era complimented by extensive modern facilities and inviting bar you will find yourself cocooned from the world for as long as you wish to stay. When you wish to explore out you are just a two-minute stroll away from the majestic York Minster and all of the history and beauty of the walled city of York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Minster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing