We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Christmas stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Lovely hotel, nice location, comfy rooms, great breakfast. Booked again for this year already. We stayed 2 nights for the festival of Angels and also booked into Jamie Oliver's for Christmas Meal, also recommend going. Also hotel had private parking which saves about £25.

Room Tip: Great price for this excellent hotel, highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    268
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
85
294
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our family party of 12 including 4 children under 12 spent one night at Wheatlands Lodge. From our first telephone call we were very confident that this Hotel would meet our needs for the family birthday we planned. We had 4 rooms, 2 of which were family rooms. The Manager and day staff were extremely friendly. The hotel has a small car park which is a bonus in York. We were allowed to leave our cars in the car park after booking out whilst we spent time in York. This was also very welcome. The rooms were adequate. One family group was placed in the Flat which gave extra space. Some of the rooms have been refurbished. All the rooms were very clean. The food was adequate but some changes could be made to breakfast to accomodate vegetarians and vegans.
Generally a very good stay - thank you to Tim, Tracey and Fiona.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

3 night stay, just before Christmas. Hotel is just the right walking distance from the city centre. Very friendly staff, obviously family run , which is a big plus. Room was absolutely fine. Clean and comfortable with en suite shower room. Breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay here again , and happy to recommend .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RussB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is within a 20 minute walking distance of the historic centre of York. The room I was allocated as a single occupant was sparse and small with the shower room being as big as the room the single bed was situated in. The bed was not long enough for me which impacted on my sleep but I am 6' 5" tall, there was a kettle with tea and coffee a TV but little else. The bathroom had a small tablet of soap. The room was clean but very dark and not very welcoming. The breakfast was more than adequate and the hotel had a good bar and all the staff were helpful. For the price paid was value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Me and my husband spent New Year's Eve here, although we've been to this hotel about 6 times, it was our first new year here. We had a fab time, as usual Tim, Tanya. Fiona, and Terry, were very welcoming, as are all their staff. The hotel was full with a large coach party from Scotland and we seemed to be at the younger end of the guests, but it was still fun, the meal was lovely, the quizzes on the walls were at times challenging and the disco/karaoke was ok.. Breakfast was a late affair, with comp tea/coffee and cakes in the afternoon. New Year's Day evening entertainment was bingo and a quiz, it was really good fun, lots of raffle, prizes, then comp sandwiches and home made mince pies, in all a really lovely 2 days.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor at the front tend to be bigger, and traffic noise is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel has a good central location. The staff were helpful when we arrived and allowed us to book in early. Overall, whilst clean and functional, the money saving has gone a bit too far, almost a B&B feel at a hotel price. I wouldn't be disappointed to stay again but won't go out of my way to do so.

The room was mediocre - an average room with a boxed off section for the toilet/shower. The furniture was a bit utilitarian and felt like flat-pack average. The bed was awful - it was a cheap metal frame that squeaked if you even looked at it and the mattress was only just acceptable. There was a bit of a funny smell that seemed to be from the drains. The boiler sounded like an aircraft was taking off but at least stopped at night. It was clean thankfully, though it was fortunate we brought our own toiletries as only soap was provided.

Breakfast was hit and miss - a lovely cooked breakfast let down by average cereals and some bargain basement small pre-packed preserves.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephbloggs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

my wife and i went with caledonian travel between the 27th and 29th december but as the motorway was closed for most of the way down it took twice as long arriving at 5.00 and not the start we wanted but the hotel really made up for this as its very homely, we were very suprised that its only 2 stars my wife joked fancy bringing me to a 2 star hotel but as someone else pointed out theres no lifts though our driver told us if anyone needed help one of the staff would carry there bags, the meal were very good we were very suprised to get a 4 course dinner and all good the waiting staff were all friendly and once they took your order you soon received your food, breakfast was between 7.45 and 9.00 found if you beat the rush got your main breakfast quicker, at night we were given the ame time so if you have 40 to 50 people together going to take longer i though the staff did very well, to go into town walk to the left and then at the end of the road turn right and just follow the road down there is a cimera once you have turned on the left, once you have crossed over the bridge theres sign posts everywhere for all the places you want to see, i could never go to york and not walk down the shambles. but great to see york still have the nice small shops and havent been crushed by the big supermarkets.

Room Tip: sure they will all be nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qotsfc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing