We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for york”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value for york”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Used this hotel as a base - visiting family for a christening.
Room was clean and well appointed, bed was comfy.
No lift so book a downstairs room if mobility a problem.
Arrived slightly early so given complimnetary drinks and snacks while we waited.
Hotel has a small car park which is tight for larger vehicles and does get full, luckily i managed to get parked on the road outside (3-4 free spaces availlable).
York city centre a 15 min walk away.
Did'nt have food from the resturaunt served early evening probably due to the number of pensioner trips that use the hotel? but was told by a few that it was good.
We got pizza's from a local take away and were allowed to consume in the bar with our drinks.
All in all a good value hotel not far from york centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vwmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    267
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
85
294
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from centre and train station. Arrived just after 2pm, had to wait 1/2 hour for room, but sat outside in garden (hot Day). The receptionist was very cheerful and polite. The room was small but had everthing you need, flat screen tv, hairdryer, coffee and tea etc, and was very clean. The bed was very comfy, wanted to take mattress home. Breakfast was very busy, tables left with dirty plates on etc (staff very busy). There was cereals, fruit and yogerts
which you helped yourself, and ordered your cooked breakfast.The breakfast was ok but nothing impressive...
I would stay here again, because all the staff were hardworking, cheerful and very polite and the hotel is spotless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just come back from a night staying here,very noisy outside with people smoking and the traffic.bed was well comfy could do with a bit of an update date,we ate in the restaurant very nice food.staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Just got back after a 4 day stay the staff are so kind and friendly and helpful hotel can not be faulted have in the past stayed at the royal york this hotel betters the royal.the breakfast is lovely and evening meal excellent the staff do everything possible to make your stay pleasurable and enjoyable booked again for October.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Let me first of all say that the staff at the Lodge are all great, hard-working people and my review has nothing to do with them. I think they all do an excellent job, especially the dining room staff.
However...
As nice as the Lodge looks on the outside, inside the rooms is a different story: we stayed in a large room with two very uncomfortable beds (I tried them both 'cause I just couldn't believe how bad mine was the first night I slept in it - they were both terrible). The rooms are decorated very plainly. There are cracks in the wall and scratches in the funiture, which looks very old and shabby. The dining room looks more like a cafeteria, the food is bland, and the room is noisy. The walk to the Lodge from the train station is about 10 minutes, to city center about 20, and there are few rstaurants around (we usually walked to city center to eat). I don't think we'll be staying here again. It just doesn't seem like the owners care much about the place. The staff, however, as I mentioned before, is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

stayed in the mews house with breakfast and evening meal stayed at this hotel a number of times as it is clean, comfortable, friendly and in a good location, the meals are very good with a good choice. will be returning again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickmarynikkichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were satisfied with the quality. We had two different rooms (we decided at the last minute to stay another night) and both were clean and comfortable. The price, which included breakfast, was very reasonable, although I have to say the breakfast was only adequate. It's a family run hotel and the friendly atmosphere is probably partly due to that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank living-in-germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing