We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just completed our 3rd stay at Wheatlands Lodge.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just completed our 3rd stay at Wheatlands Lodge.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the place we - my wife and I, a couple in our mid 60-ies - stay when we are in York.
We come back because we know what we get: Acomodation in beautiful Victorian well kept building with a nice lawn in front of it. A very English type of atmosphere place. Good renovated comfortable clean rooms with good beds to sleep in. Good and very friendly service. Well situated a very short drive from the Yorks charming town centre and the railway station, or a 10-15-20 minutes to walk depending on where you want to go. OK - no nonsense breakfast. Free Wi-Fi in the reception area and in the bar, but not reliable reception in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    280
    61
    21
    12
See reviews for
90
310
54
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel outside of the city centre, yet very accessible by foot (10 minute walk). If you are driving to the hotel, the parking situation is a little awkward due to the limited space. The hotel is very clean, and the staff is incredibly welcoming and hospitable. Rooms are all different in layout and size; some have a bigger bed, some a bigger bathroom, some do not have a bathtub but a shower, etc. The hotel has a nice pub on the premises with an homage to Laurel and Hardy!

The rooms are not sound proofed, therefore, you can hear everything! The upside, there is hot water at any hour.

The breakfast was excellent with a large variety of cereal, juices, and a choice of different cooked breakfast. The full english breakfast was outstanding.

Great value for what you get, with wonderful staff who will go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel, organised through Caledonian Travel who arranged it all perfectly. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodation. The food was really good and beautifully presented and the restaurant staff, indeed all of the the staff, were so pleasant and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was tip top, with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water for showers. The town is within walking distance, but can be reached by bus from the next street (there is also cinema in the next street for rainy evenings) We don't think the that pictures of the hotel and garden do it justice!

Room Tip: Our room was to the front and sound-proofing was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The lodge was within a short walk from the town center. Very convenient. Staff were most helpful with directions and recommendations. Parking was a little tight, but having on-site parking was a great benefit. Room was clean, good size and well maintained. Most enjoyable place, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The location of the lodge was quite good, It was within walking distance of town for our family. We were are a party of 7, all adults.
My daughter and her husbands room had an overpowering smell of paint, they were moved a little reluctantly by staff , we didn't understand why they would have not been given the 2nd room in the first place, it was the exact same layout as the painted room.
Our room had a strange set up for the TV and desk, just did not make it comfortable to use either. My son was in a single, it was literally as small as a closet, just enough room to walk pass the bed to get to the wardrobe.
The bar area has an overabundant display of all things Laurel & Hardie. A little creepy.
We found the staff be rude and uninterested in helping or even acknowledging you were standing at the reception. During breakfast it felt like you were intruding by actually asking for anything extra.ie: milk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaJ061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Was my first experience of travelling solo , could not have wished for a more comfortable value for monies hotel . I felt comfortable from the moment i walked in . Staff friendly helpful , meals served piping hot , no waiting even though at the time there were two coach parties, plus other guests at dinner. Would have liked a daily menu on table , or displayed , at entrance to dining room .
Location as stated , perfect for , station , York , centre , and race course , the latter taxi fare very reasonable , although not on race days have been told .
I think could warrant one more star , for meals , service , alone .
I fully intend to return next year for an exhibition in June

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollie2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Tim and Tania are very kind, and the hotel is perfect! Near the historical centre and the railway station, in a pleasant street, the hotel is very nice and clean. The room is small, but warm and clean, with coffee/tea facilities and a tube in the bathroom. The breakfast is very good and all the staff is very helpful.
There's a bar in the hotel where you can drink beer or whisky.
We really recommend this hotel!!
And York is a nice city to visit!
Thanks for all!!

O hotel é pertinho da estação de trem e do centro histórico, numa rua agradável. O quarto é pequeno, mas limpo, com café e chá à vontade. Banheiro com banheira. Todos no hotel são muito simpáticos e eficientes, principalmente Tim e Tania. Adoramos incluir York na nossa viagem, porque é uma cidade muito simpática! Recomendo o hotel de olhos fechados!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing