We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location not so friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The location of the lodge was quite good, It was within walking distance of town for our family. We were are a party of 7, all adults.
My daughter and her husbands room had an overpowering smell of paint, they were moved a little reluctantly by staff , we didn't understand why they would have not been given the 2nd room in the first place, it was the exact same layout as the painted room.
Our room had a strange set up for the TV and desk, just did not make it comfortable to use either. My son was in a single, it was literally as small as a closet, just enough room to walk pass the bed to get to the wardrobe.
The bar area has an overabundant display of all things Laurel & Hardie. A little creepy.
We found the staff be rude and uninterested in helping or even acknowledging you were standing at the reception. During breakfast it felt like you were intruding by actually asking for anything extra.ie: milk.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaJ061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 708 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Was my first experience of travelling solo , could not have wished for a more comfortable value for monies hotel . I felt comfortable from the moment i walked in . Staff friendly helpful , meals served piping hot , no waiting even though at the time there were two coach parties, plus other guests at dinner. Would have liked a daily menu on table , or displayed , at entrance to dining room .
Location as stated , perfect for , station , York , centre , and race course , the latter taxi fare very reasonable , although not on race days have been told .
I think could warrant one more star , for meals , service , alone .
I fully intend to return next year for an exhibition in June

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mollie2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Tim and Tania are very kind, and the hotel is perfect! Near the historical centre and the railway station, in a pleasant street, the hotel is very nice and clean. The room is small, but warm and clean, with coffee/tea facilities and a tube in the bathroom. The breakfast is very good and all the staff is very helpful.
There's a bar in the hotel where you can drink beer or whisky.
We really recommend this hotel!!
And York is a nice city to visit!
Thanks for all!!

O hotel é pertinho da estação de trem e do centro histórico, numa rua agradável. O quarto é pequeno, mas limpo, com café e chá à vontade. Banheiro com banheira. Todos no hotel são muito simpáticos e eficientes, principalmente Tim e Tania. Adoramos incluir York na nossa viagem, porque é uma cidade muito simpática! Recomendo o hotel de olhos fechados!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was there for a short break in York. The hotel is ideally situated, just outside the walls of the old city and thus at walking distance of all interesting parts, including York Minster. The room and the bathroom were very clean and tidy, the staff was very helpful and the English breakfast was as expected. They have a parking but this was not accessible when we visited. We had, however, no problem to park in the street. Of good value for money. Highly recommended, then.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went solo for 2 days and then was joined by friend had a large double room number ten, very clean and remarkable for price.Beware of this room when races are on as it overlooks the back were the folks smoke after using the bar, was kept awake till 4.30,otherwise great friendly place 15 mins walk into York 10 mins to station.
Breakfast good ,evening meal great value 5 courses for £15 .50.dining room spacious
and very clean a great find ,dont be put of by 2 star should be 3 -4,as stayed in 4 star in Torquay which should have been one star if that.
A great find very relaxing friendly place will def. be returning amazing value for money.

Room Tip: , stayed in room 10 at back light and bright many rooms to choose ring hotel for advice on room as...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthiaAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing little gem in York .
Clean
Friendly ,helpfully , one of the best in York
Good location
Good beer
Really nice breakfast ,loads of choice .
Rooms are spacious with everything you need tea coffe etc

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachlover27DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Twice a year a small group of friends meet up to renew acquaintances and we stay in Hotels country-wide. The Wheatlands Lodge has just provided us with the best experience so far. We tend to book blind and take what we get (never the cheapest, never the most expensive). Everything at the Wheatlands Lodge surpassed all our expectations. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range: $114 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing