We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try this one first.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try this one first.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are thinking of taking a trip to York, try this hotel first. We have just returned from a mini break to carry out a little retail therapy in York.
Comfortable warm atmosphere, Freindly staff, First class food, Well worth the money.
If you are thinking of taking a similar break, check this hotel out first, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    280
    61
    21
    12
See reviews for
90
310
54
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My partner and I visited York in November and stayed at the Wheatlands for 4 nights ( Mon - Fri). The hotel is very well situated for visiting the attractions of York ,only a 10 minute walk to the centre . The National Railway Museum is nearby and if you are arriving by train the hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the station also.

Our room was on the top floor overlooking the front of the hotel( as we had requested).It was clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities,tv and a well fitted bathroom with both bath and shower. We had booked breakfast and dinner and were delighted with the choices for both meals.The food was piping hot and served by friendly smiling staff in the dining room.

This was our first visit to the Wheatlands but will certainly not be our last. We hope to visit York again next year and would not dream of staying anywhere else now that we have found the Wheatlands!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I felt it was time I expressed my thoughts on the Wheatlands. My wife and I have been enjoying our stays at the hotel for over 25 years. At first it was just once a year gradually building to 5 times a year. From the first to our most recent stay, the genuine warm friendly greeting/atmosphere makes us feel like we are at home. The number of people we meet throughout the year who, like us, are habitual users says it all.
The value is very good and that includes the bar, the staff very accomodating and the food is good and wholesome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I just spent four nights at the Wheatlands Lodge Hotel and we found the location excellent for walking into the City centre.
Our room was on the ground floor as this was what we had requested, and we found it quiet, making for a good night's sleep!
Breakfast was excellent, as was the evening dinner, the staff very professional and pleasant.
The exterior of the hotel is very appealing, and the public areas were warm and cosy. The free Wi-Fi was a bonus, although it was not possible to get a signal in the rooms, so I had to take my laptop down to one of the lounges to use it. This was only a minor irritation for me as I was there for leisure, but if you were there on business and needed to access the internet on a more regular basis, this could be a bit of a nuisance. The lack of a good signal in the rooms is probably due to the thickness of the walls in the hotel so there isn't much the proprietors of the hotel can do about it!
Our room was clean and fairly comfortable, although the bathroom was small and there was little space for dressing in there!
The decor of the public areas is to a fairly decent standard, but the corridors and rooms could do with a lick of paint to freshen them up. There was evidence of some decorating being done when we stayed as I saw a couple of men carrying paint tins so this may be in hand and I am sure it will be a big improvement.
Overall a very standard of cleanliness throughout, excellent, friendly and helpful staff and I would definitely stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: If you need internet access, suggest you ask for low-floor room to save having to carrying latops et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovewestlife506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just returned from our annual Xmas shopping trip. Stayed at the Wheatlands and good value for money, nice clean room and lovely food. Would have no hesitation in returning next year.......keep up the good work at the Wheatlands.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at WL 23rd 24th Nov 2012. Had a great weekend in York with 9 friends. The check in was quick and the staff very friendly during our stay. We had a 3 course meal on our first night and the food was very good for £14.50. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Rooms comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisPhil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

once again cannot praise enough , the most welcoming place, it is so relaxing and staff and the owners are so obliging with all the guests requests, food very good,rooms well maintained and the most comfy beds,just cant fault anything at all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 659haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge Hotel

Property: Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Address: 75/85 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheatlands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned and run hotel, established in 1980. A 2 star rated hotel, giving a standard of service and cleanliness that any 4 star hotel would be proud of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel York
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing