We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LBGlos”
Review of The Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cavalier
Ranked #84 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Cavaleir adn I shall be booking for next year. The service is excellent and the managers very friendly and welcoming. I have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review Linda. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family arrived from Canada feeling quite frazzled and jet lagged. Thankfully owners were able to help with parking and get us settled. The family room on the top floor was adequate for two boys and two adults. We were impressed with the location and the quality of the English breakfasts. The breakfast was still a novelty for us! The owners were fabulous with my children. It was a good place for us to adjust to the time change and welcoming to foreign tourists.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank zetaGreyBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make you feel comfortable and more rested after your long journey. We hope we can welcome you back to The Cavalier again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed at The Cavalier three times now because the location is unbeatable and the fact that they have car parking available is invaluable.

The rooms are in need of an upgrade but are spotlessly clean, the quality of the bed linen and towels is really good.

We thought the dining room was much improved from our last visit and Natalie and Guy made a big effort to make us feel welcome.

No reason why we shouldn't stay here again when we're next in York

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandESheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cavalier - hopefully sooner than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We only stayed for one night. We booked the family room which is right at the top with two double beds and one single bed for five of us. The room is very clean, the ensuite is clean, but would need an upgrade. But the staff is very friendly, especially Natalie, she carried our bags up to the top even my husband offered to take one bag off her, but she refused! The hotel is just outside of the Walls of York, easy and short walk into the City. Lovely beds, we all slept like a log. There was a fan in the room already, which we used it, as the top rooms can be very warm overnight. Lovely breakfast. Nothing to moan about the hotel and the staff. Would recommend the hotel to our friends and family if they visit York.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jansuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Many thanks for your comments and feed back. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible from the moment you walk through our doors, including assisting with luggage to the top floor! We look forward to welcoming any family and friends that stay with us on your recommendation and also hope we will be able to welcome you to The Cavalier for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights in June 2013 and having visited the Cavalier three times previously were a bit disappointed with our stay. The room we were given (room 3) is not suitable for two and the bed was cheap and uncomfortable and the mattress was far too small for the bed.
Not really enough space to swing a cat , if thats your inclination.
Very cheap wardrobe and ensuite was not very good.

Towels were not changed every day , despite adhering to instructions to leave used towels in the shower after use.

Breakfast was not up to the usual standard.

Disappointed that the ground floor lounge is now used as the breakfast room and this takes away from the charm of the guest house.

The floor boards in the building badly need attending to as the noise stopped me from sleeping (I usually have no difficulty in getting to sleep)

Its a great location for easy access to the Minster area , however badly needs upgrading in several departments.

The manager kindly carried our bags to our room , however it would need a lot more than that for us to return to the Cavalier.

Terry and Helen (Glasgow)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Terry

We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are also dismayed that despite being here for 4 days you felt you could not approach us to discuss your unhappiness with the room and our service.

Guy and I work very hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and ensure that all towels are changed if they have been left in the shower. Occasionally there may be an oversight however I do not think this would be done for 4 days.

We take pride in the breakfast we serve and cater for everyone’s needs and have not had any complaints about our breakfast so far. If there was anything you were not satisfied with we would have appreciated your feedback there and then so that we could have given you an alternative option.

The lounge has not been a lounge for over a year now and as the building is an old building there is very little that can be done about the creaking floor boards.

I see that you previously stayed with us as recently as April and wonder if you had the same concerns a mere 2 months ago?

Regards
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here as a family recently. Natalie and Guy are doing a great job providing for guests in even the smallest ways. I fell I'll while in York and Guy even offered to get something from the supermarket for me while recovering. We were supplied with fans during the unprecedented heat, our bags were carried to the very top floor - a long way up!

Our ensuite was fine for our needs and also had a bath for families with children if needed. The decor was a bit dated but everything was clean and ample toiletries supplied. All the communal bathrooms available on landings were meticulously clean and availability was good.

A selection of cereals, juices, yoghurt and toasts was ample for breakfast but with the option of a full cooked breakfast as well!

The location is excellent being very close to the city walls, suoermarkets, bus stops etc but without the noise of the nightclub area on the other side of town.

Overall an excellent stay at a home from home with genuinely caring and kind hosts. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank ohsevenphive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Jane

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was lovely to meet you and the family. We hope that you are now fully recovered and enjoyed the rest of your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again - perhaps when it is a bit cooler for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here recently for a night with my partner. The B&B is in a fantastic location, very short walk to city center but not plagued with late night noise as you would expect from a city with a vibrant night life, as some of the bigger hotels in town are.
The room we stayed in was spotless and homely and had everything we needed in regards to tea, coffee, toiletries etc. The bed was extremely comfortable and had the best nights sleep in ages! The breakfast was fantastic, everything you could hope for. Natalie and Guy we extremely warm, welcoming and happy to help in any way. They were very lovely hosts and we would recommend this place to all our friends and family. Won't be looking anywhere else next time we stay in York.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#6 of 47 in York
734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavalier

Address: 39 Monkgate, York YO31 7PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $93 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cavalier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavalier Hotel in York is a Grade 2 Listed town house dating back to 1794. We offer bed and breakfast guest house accommodation set close to the City Walls, in the heart of York, it provides a superb central location for exploring the city - Minster, Museums and Jorvik centre which are all on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavalier Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing