We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of The Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cavalier
Ranked #83 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here as a family recently. Natalie and Guy are doing a great job providing for guests in even the smallest ways. I fell I'll while in York and Guy even offered to get something from the supermarket for me while recovering. We were supplied with fans during the unprecedented heat, our bags were carried to the very top floor - a long way up!

Our ensuite was fine for our needs and also had a bath for families with children if needed. The decor was a bit dated but everything was clean and ample toiletries supplied. All the communal bathrooms available on landings were meticulously clean and availability was good.

A selection of cereals, juices, yoghurt and toasts was ample for breakfast but with the option of a full cooked breakfast as well!

The location is excellent being very close to the city walls, suoermarkets, bus stops etc but without the noise of the nightclub area on the other side of town.

Overall an excellent stay at a home from home with genuinely caring and kind hosts. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank ohsevenphive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie D, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Jane

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was lovely to meet you and the family. We hope that you are now fully recovered and enjoyed the rest of your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again - perhaps when it is a bit cooler for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here recently for a night with my partner. The B&B is in a fantastic location, very short walk to city center but not plagued with late night noise as you would expect from a city with a vibrant night life, as some of the bigger hotels in town are.
The room we stayed in was spotless and homely and had everything we needed in regards to tea, coffee, toiletries etc. The bed was extremely comfortable and had the best nights sleep in ages! The breakfast was fantastic, everything you could hope for. Natalie and Guy we extremely warm, welcoming and happy to help in any way. They were very lovely hosts and we would recommend this place to all our friends and family. Won't be looking anywhere else next time we stay in York.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very average B&B glad I only stayed one night very basic room minimal toiletries supplied in bathroom and not much going for it the best thing was it’s proximity to city centre which is only a short walk away the staff where nice but not a place I would stay at again

Lynne M

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked this B&B last minute for one night. The owners and staff were helpful and explained where to go in york. The parking was a garage but would be a sqeeze if u had a 4*4. overall a nice cosy oldy worldy place on a budget. ALso i left a dress there when i rang they said no probem and sent within a couple of days in the post. york is beautiful and worth a visit. me and my partner are in our late twentys and there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Arrived on Friday 31st May as a family of 5, little disappointed at first with the parking situation but soon moved on after successfully parking up opposite the hotel in a very tight space with help from my partner and the proprietor. Guy (the proprietor) then, very kindly helped us with our numerous bags to the top floor of the hotel to our family room, we always knew that it wouldn't be the biggest room as we had been told on booking that the room had two double beds and one single which was perfect for our needs with 3 children.

The hotel is in a fabulous location literally 5-10 minutes walk into the city centre, yes there is road noise but its a city centre hotel! This was NEVER a problem for us.

The room was clean, tidy and had all that we needed for our two night stay, the shower took a bit of getting used to as the temp is controlled off the taps, but hey that's half the fun of staying somewhere new!

The breakfast was really good and the proprietors were extremely accommodating as we were slightly late for breakfast on Sunday morning, they never pressured us to hurry or even to check out by exactly 10.30 which was excellent.

The hotel had just changed hands when we arrived to Guy and Natalie, I have to say, they did a fantastic job and we felt very welcome in a nice atmosphere.

Would we return on our next visit? 100% yes!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Theonlywelshdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This guest house is very well positioned for a stay in York.
we parked our car opposite with a permit issued by the guest house and didn't use it again.
A short walk through Monk Bar and you are in the city, 10 minutes max
The couple running the guest house were very nice and helpful offering to carry our bags and giving advice on things to see in the city.
Our room a double at the back was rather small very clean but really in need of updating.
The only negative was the creaking of floor boards coming from the family rooms above I know this is a very old building but we were not prepared for the noise
.Having said that I'm sure whoever stayed below us had the same problem.
Still I would recommend this guest house for its good location and the friendly people running it. Just be for warned and take some earplugs or stay in a family room with no one above you.

Room Tip: Family rooms should be great being on the top floor but no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This guest house is really convenient for walking around York as it's just outside the city walls. The downside is it's on a main road so if like us you prefer to have the window open at night, you need to take earplugs as the traffic noise is constant.

We had a flexible twin room which meant it had a double and a single bed in it. The beds were comfortable, the bedding and towels were unusually very high quality for a 3* guest house, the place was spotless, the shower very efficient and there were tea/coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV in the room. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice, and it was nice to have a plate without a drop of fat on it even though fried bread was on the menu.

The owners were very pleasant and friendly and Alicia had a constant smile on her face. We would stay there again if we had another visit to York.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a rear view room to avoid traffic noise and a room on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_barrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane_Elicia, Manager at The Cavalier, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Mr Barrow

Thank-you for your fabulous review and feedback. Earplugs are certainly handy when booked in the front rooms of the Cavalier. We are thrilled about your comment regarding our Linen! You were an excellent Guest and we are looking forward to your return. Kind regards, Elicia and Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 47 in York
647 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.6 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#43 of 195 in York
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 195 in York
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 195 in York
1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#41 of 195 in York
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavalier

Address: 39 Monkgate, York YO31 7PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $80 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cavalier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavalier Hotel in York is a Grade 2 Listed town house dating back to 1794. We offer bed and breakfast guest house accommodation set close to the City Walls, in the heart of York, it provides a superb central location for exploring the city - Minster, Museums and Jorvik centre which are all on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavalier Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing