We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galtres Lodge Hotel
Ranked #119 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the end of November, during the Christmas fair weekend. We stayed in room 4 and I would definitely recommend the room. Large, light, stylish decor and a very comfortable bed. Great views of the street (and Christmas decorations) outside, fun to watch the shoppers and listen to the buskers. The hotel is ideally located - you have whatever you're looking for right at your door, be it shops, pubs, restaurants, tourist attractions. (Be aware that the restaurant is very popular at lunch times and it can be difficult to squeeze through the queue to get the stairs leading to the hotel above. I had to reassure hungry old ladies that I wasn't pushing in!) The restaurant downstairs operates a discount for hotel guests and we ate there the first night. The food was good and arrived quickly. The breakfast was hearty and filling, very tasty. All in all, a great place to stay at a reasonable price for a city centre hotel, particularly one so well situated and with a bit of olde-worlde character. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justletmechoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 409 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We enjoyed our off peak stay in early January when the prices were low. Helpful staff, lovely food but very variable rooms, avoid the attic rooms 12, 14 and 15 unless you are strapped for cash. The car parking is good if there are spaces but a nightmare if not. Come by train if you can! The best thing is the location which is brilliant for sightseeing, shopping and dining out although the restaurant here is very good.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank northumbrianbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the galtress lodge from wednesday to friday. We recieved a very friendly welcome and was allowed to check in even though we were over an hour early. We stayed in room 9 which was a lovely bright room over looking shopping area, room was very clean and well stocked with tea's coffee's etc.The weather was -5 whilst we were there but our room was lovley and warm with a great supply of spare pillows and blanket.
During our visit my husband was poorly, the hotel were very helpfull in arranging for us to eat our meal in our room and sorted taxis, staff could not do enough and this was greatly appreciated.
The breakfast was very good quality and there was good choice on the restaurant menu.
With regard to location, outside the hotel doors is the main shopping area you could not stay any closer so all in all a great little find.

Room Tip: Room 9 was large and had 2 windows making it very bright, had a lovely wood bed and was furnished v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

On a recent trip to York we stayed at the Galtres Lodge. We were allocated room 9, which is a good size room with a double canopied bed. You have to appreciate the building is very old and does throw up some 'features.' saying this I would more than reccomend this hotel to anyone. It is possibly the most centrally located hotel in the centre of York -in the middle of all the old world shops, pubs and bars. We were supplied with toiletries and clean towels everyday. A plentiful supply of tea, coffee, biscuits and milk was available. When we asked for more milk the request was met with 'how many/much would you like?'


The breakfast was a real treat with the 'full english' being superb! Vegetarian options proved no problem for them.

We had the evening meal one night. I had sea bass with aspagus, prawn and cream dressing (beautiful!) my partner had the roast lamb (very tender and plentiful). Both dishes came with a selection of vegetables.

The staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the king size or double superior (Room 9 - sunny with a good view of the shambles)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just got back from a couple of nights away at Galtres Lodge Hotel in a superior double (room 7). Room was a good size, view of the minster, everything was clean. Although the bathroom was small, it was more than big enough for a couple of nights. Excellent friendly staff, happy to help and stored our bags while we went shopping on the day we left. The breakfast was lovely, would recommend the full english breakfast. We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was very tasty, especially the sticky toffee pudding. The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre so easy access to shops and attractions. We greatly enjoyed our stay and would definately stay there again if visiting York.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights in September whilst we were in York for a friend's wedding. The B&B is ideally located right in the centre of York, but bear this in mind if you drive as the street is pedestrianised after a certain time (10am I think). This wasn't a problem for us as we got the train, it's about a 10 min walk from the station.

Check in was relatively easy, and we went straight up to our room (Room 11) which was on the 2nd floor. The room was fairly small, just a bit bigger than the double bed - with very limited space around the side of the bed. The bathroom was modern, but again small, with a seperate shower cubicle (no bath). The hotel website described our room as having a Minster view - it did if you stood on the bed and peered out through the window. However the window was really dirty and didn't actually open properly, we did manage to get it to open but then it was nearly impossible to close it again, also the net curtains were very dirty.

The hotel was busy and this appeared to cause problems with the showers in the morning. Mine was actually ok but think that's because I had it early, several of my friends and my husband had either cold showers, or the water pressure was really low. I know that this is an old building but you expect a hot shower when you pay these kind of prices.

Breakfast was very good, in fact probably the best one that I have had in a hotel/B&B, all the food was fresh and very tasty, and you could request extra tea and coffee if you wished.

Access to the B&B after 11pm is via a security door and you are given an access code - this made it easy for us to come and go as we pleased during the evening without worryin about being back at a certain time.

In summary, this B&B is good for it's location and breakfast, but I feel it is very expensive for the size and cleanliness of the rooms that you get. We paid £175 for 2 nights.

Tip - please check the hotel's website for the different room descriptions so you can book a specific room - also be aware that the rooms on the very top floor have really low ceilings so don't book if you are tall.

Room Tip: Look on the hotel's website where it has individual room descriptions, rooms at the front may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazzajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel on a last minute weekend away . Everything was just right from the location the clean tastefull period room and the polite staff giving us a pleasant stay we only wish we had tried the restaurant which we will do on our next visit which hopefully will be soon .

Room Tip: The front rooms give a lovely view but theres the noise of the street which is minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#29 of 47 in York
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton York
0.6 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 47 in York
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galtres Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galtres Lodge Hotel

Address: 54 Low Petergate, York YO1 7HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $94 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galtres Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galtres Lodge, conveniently situated in the centre of York, offers its guests a warm and friendly welcome and, moreover, an ideal base from which to explore the many attractions that York has to offer. Ideally placed on the Roman street of Low Petergate, the Lodge offers all the buzz of nearby boutique shops and restaurants, plus the culture and beauty of the many museums and magnificent splendour of York Minster. From here, it is possible to enjoy the historic Shambles, the many eateries of Fossgate and, furthermore, York’s National Trust properties, whilst of course stopping off for afternoon tea en route. York has something to offer everyone, and Galtres Lodge is placed right at the centre of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galtres Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galtres Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing