We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly”
Review of Abbey Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #47 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, friendly”
Reviewed April 4, 2009

I am actually relaxing before hitting the city for more site seeing, sitting on a bed at Abbey GH. It's really lovelly here, friendly well decorated and vey clean. Oh they have WIFI access too. Free!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasingstokeAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    48
    7
    4
    12
See reviews for
39
234
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Our second visit to Abbey Guest House, last one two years ago. Yoy can tell a place is cared for by the continued improvements which take place to keep up what was already a high standard of accomodation. This place is very clean, well decorated, comfortable and in keeping with the building type. The food is well prepared and plentiful. The hosts Gill and Alec are friendly, accomodating and helpful, but then I suppose that all depends on your attitude to the people you deal with.
We spent an excellent three days in a location which really is within easy walking distance of the city centre with views and walks along the of the river to die for. To be so close to the city centre but without the city style bustle and noise, it's a great location. Parking, not a problem, while there is a car park, we didn't need it since travelling by train to York (10 minutes from the station, even for us) is a lot less hastle and the roads into York city are always busy.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We booked a room at this B&B in advance and arrived around 6 in the evening. The owner was rather hostile and rude to us. He asked us what our next stop would be. When we said we'd be driving to Lincoln the next day and then on to Boston in Lincolnshire (which we want to see because we are from Boston USA), he said you can't possibly do all that in one day, and why would you ever want to go to Boston, what a horrible place. He said we'd need to leave early in the morning to have any hope of getting to Lincoln, even though our mapping sources said it was a 2.5-3 hour drive. He then told us that we would have to schedule breakfast and that he didn't have any seatings available until 10:00 a.m. He was clearly trying to keep from having to feed us breakfast. We accepted the 10:00 seating, to his chagrin. After breakfast the next day, we wanted to spend a couple of hours walking around York before leaving for Lincoln (which we reached the next afternoon without any trouble by the way, and we also enjoyed our visit to Boston). We asked if we could leave our car in the guest house's parking space for a couple hours after breakfast. The owner said, absolutely not, we would have to vacate the space immediately. I then noticed the sign outside advertising all-day parking for £5. Again, the proprietor's penny pinching took priority over the convenience or comfort of the guest. Please avoid this place unless you are willing to put up with rude and unaccommodating treatment.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill088, Owner at Abbey Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
We were sorry to read that even at this stage of 9 months after his visit to York markoboston is still unhappy with his reception here.

Unfortunately sometimes the Yorkshire way of communicating with sarcasm can be lost and clearly this has happened here with regard to the comments about Boston in Lincolnshire. One can accept his comments about this if read in this light although some of the other matters he mentions are factually incorrect.

We serve breakfast until 9.15am so he would never have been asked to appear at 10am for breakfast. He had booked for bed and breakfast so of course he would be entitled to and served it.

Also, our information clearly states that we normally allow guests to have access to free parking when we have space available - on this occasion there must have been other guests due to arrive in vehicles and also some private reservations for our car parking spaces and so we were unable to accommodate his wishes to stay in our car park on the day after his stay, although it would not have been appropriate for us to go into long and detailed explanations with this guest about exactly why we didn't have a space.

Hopefully you will read our other excellent reviews and take heart from them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

This clean and comfortable B&B is located only one block from the York city walls, behind the Museum Gardens, on the River Ouse. You can choose from a wide selection of breakfast choices. The owners are most helpful in providing maps and suggesting the best routes to Castle Howard, North York Moors Railway, and all the other sites in and near York. A big bonus in a city where B&Bs often have only street-parking, Abbey Guest House has its own private parking lot.

  • Liked — Located one block from city walls
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outoftheclassroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

I was amazed to find a bad review on this website; the couple who own the AGH are absolutely delightful as is their wonderfully behaved dog and the accommodation was immaculate. We had booked the two river-facing four poster rooms some months ago and were pleasantly surprised to discover in the meantime that both have been renovated to a very high standard (the price per room belies the quality, something you surely can't be upset about!). We were greeted with freshly baked brownies and a very generous demeanour, something that the couple did not drop during our entire stay. They happily accommodated all of our requests and made our time in York all the more pleasurable. I couldn’t recommend this B&B more highly.

  • Liked — location - by the river, facilities, and the owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton,derby
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2008

this is a great B&B, very close to York city centre and is right on the river so its great for a stroll into the city. the rooms are lovely and modern and the ensuite in our room was really nice. Its has all the nice little touches that you would expect from a good B&B, would definately recommend, although is very close to railway lines and trains can be heard very early in the morning but other than that I can not fault this place! Breakfast was excellent, good quality local produce used and great service. We are a young couple so would recommend to others.

  • Liked — the room and the breakfast!!!
  • Disliked — the noisy trains
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chickHilton_derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miltonkeynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night visit to the Abbey Guest House and enjoyed our stay so much we have booked again for next year!! This is one of the few places which doesn't have a price increase because of the race meeting at York!!

We were greeted with a very welcome cup of tea and home made cake by Gill and taken to an excellent spotlessly clean room overlooking the river with a very good ensuite and, best of all, a large shower. The breakfasts were cooked to order and the pancakes as good as I have eaten in America. A very pleasant 5 minute walk into the city centre alongside the river, car parking on site and a 10 minute walk to the station with shuttle buses to the race course.

We have stayed in a number of guest houses throughout England and the Abbey is in the top 5. Gill and Alec are very good hosts and we are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Liked — the bathroom
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanzususan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#29 of 192 in York
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 192 in York
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#51 of 192 in York
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#49 of 192 in York
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 13-14 Earlsborough Terrace | Marygate, York YO30 7BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, friendly Guest House, located on the banks of the river Ouse, only five minutes walk from the city centre, York Minster, the Yorkshire Museum and gardens and the National Railway Museum. Close to both rail and bus stations and all of York's other main attractions. En-suite rooms overlooking the river with great views. All rooms with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet location with free private car parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing