We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in York!”
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #48 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Yet another perfect stay at Abbey. We've become regulars because we always get a very warm welcome from Alec and Gill, the two lovely owners (ignore negative comments, clearly written by lunatics). The rooms are of a very high standard and always spotless, the location is perfect on the River Ouze and less than a 5 minute walk to the city centre, either along the river or through a park with buildings of historical interest scattered throughout. Free parking is included in the package, making a saving of at least 20 pounds for a weekend stay. The breakfasts are excellent...did I say the hosts are very friendly too? All in all the best of the lot, and we've stayed in a few York guest houses over the years. Great value for money. You'd be daft to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 359 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Comfortable, centrally-located B&B with helpful, friendly owners and delicious (gluten-free) breakfasts. Upon checking in (and being greeted at the door by the owners' friendly terrier), Gill offered me a cup of tea and showed me where we were on the map and how to get to various attractions in town. The room was comfortable and clean. The full English breakfast included gluten-free toast. This was my second trip to York and my second time staying here. I hope to take a third trip to York and have a third stay at the Abbey Guest House!

Room Tip: Front-facing rooms have a good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmiller128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Disregard the negative comment!!We are going again to celebrate my boyfriends birthday tomorrow. We love everything about it. The position and the rooms and of course the breakfast are fab. The welcome from Gill and Alec is very personal and gets your stay off to a good start. Fran and Brian x Bradford.

Room Tip: 4 poster bed over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have just read the dreadful review of DesT_13 and cannot understand how he can possibly have stayed at the Abbey Guest House.
We stayed there last year and were more than satisfied, so much so in fact that we will be back again in a few weeks.
The walk from the station is definitely only 10 mins and the walk into York is fantastic - 10-15 mins along the riverside - why would you want to rush?
The guest house itself is clean and comfortable and the hosts friendly and helpful.
DesT_13 are you sure you stayed here?

Room Tip: Choose the front rooms with the views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisiegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I couldn't believe what a previous person had written and felt that it had to have been written by someone who has a grudge. We have just returned after spending 3 nights at the Abbey Guest House and we were delighted by the service, the rooms and the hosts.
We never used our car at all while we stayed here preferring to venture into the centre with a short stroll along the footpath or through the museum gardens. Once into the centre we had access to all sorts of delights that York offered. We were two couples and had use of the 2 front bedrooms rooms 1 & 2 they were immaculately clean and the bedding was so impressive I have been out already and purchased similar to have at home. One of our party was ill for the first day and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts Alec and Gill, this was greatly appreciated.
We visited for a birthday treat and were not disappointed. Local to the Train Museum as well as a bonus.
We were so pleased we are planning on returning later in the year. A huge thank you to Alec and Gill who were sincere. Also the welcome from Loofah. X

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Owners Gill and Alec are excellent hosts. They are hugely welcoming and come across as being genuinely interested in the people who stay in their home, and it does feel like you are in someone's home. The room we stayed in was well decorated, had a modern bathroom and a bed which was both large and comfortable. Breakfast was terrific, with a large choice and it was really well cooked which set us up well for a day touring York. For us, York is a place we want to keep going back to, and there is nowhere else we would be looking to stay - it is as simple as that. We got home today, and this week's job is to convince our parents they really want to have the grandchildren to stay again soon so we can go back to York, and to Abbey Guest House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

After just reading the last review I thought I'd better give a real review , The hospitality was absolutely fantastic Gill was very welcoming greeting us with coffee and a warm chocolate brownie , we had a room over looking the river it was immaculately clean and decorated beautifully , modern and contemporary. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice and beautifully laid out dining room. The location was ideal for walking into the city centre and for getting to the train station. We had a really lovely Easter stay and couldn't fault our hosts and have booked again to stay in November.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hallamchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,381 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#51 of 195 in York
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 195 in York
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#15 of 195 in York
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Address: 13-14 Earlsborough Terrace | Marygate, York YO30 7BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $113 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, friendly Guest House, located on the banks of the river Ouse, only five minutes walk from the city centre, York Minster, the Yorkshire Museum and gardens and the National Railway Museum. Close to both rail and bus stations and all of York's other main attractions. En-suite rooms overlooking the river with great views. All rooms with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet location with free private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing