We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently situated” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #44 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor Co Down
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Conveniently situated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here on a recent visit to York. Its a city we are familiar with so we were pleased to find somewhere so conveniently situated for touring the city center. It is really close to the station, which is just across the river, accessed by a footbridge. We were given first rate directions by our hosts in an email, so found our way easily. (They even have their customer parking spaces adjacent to the building, so all bases are covered)

The hosts, Alec and Gill were most welcoming and treated us to tea and home made tray bakes when we arrived. Gill was very helpful, recommending places to eat and offering money saving vouchers too.

The room was en suite, cosy and spotless, with tea making facilities and a sitting area to relax in. The bed was comfy and a good size too.
There was a good variety for breakfast on offer, with the option of a few "Specials" available too. I chose the Eggs Benedict.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment, and will definitely return on my next visit to York.

Room Tip: If like me, you are a bit long in the leg, be sure to mention it when booking, and you can get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Openboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    47
    7
    4
    12
See reviews for
38
231
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Facing the River Ouse, Abbey Guest House is a gentle riverside walk away from the city centre, or if you prefer, an equally gentle walk though the Abbey Gardens.
Presented with delicious home made chocolate brownie on arrival we were impressed from the start with the lovely hosts.
Our room was beautiful, comfy and warm, the bathroom clean and well appointed. Somehow Abbey Guest House is both homely and modern, a fantastic balance. The furnishings, decor, etc are fantastic.
Breakfast everyday was superb and really got us ready for our adventures in the city. There's a variety of specials available every day to keep the menu varied.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here, it's a really lovely place.
Thank you to the lovely Gill and Alec for being so welcoming and accommodating and making our last minute adventure in York so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fieldmouse2cv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbroguh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

A small Riverside bed and breakfast very close to York City centre.. No lift, no bar but what it lacked in frills it more than made up for in a perfect night in warm clean comfortable and friendly surroundings. Bedrooms are at first floor level with some overlooking the River Ouse which flows through the centre of York. A short riverside walk or through the park brings you straight into the heart of the city. Also very close to the Railway Station and the Railway museum. A hearty breakfast (plenty of choice) set us up for the day. Parking next the the guesthouse included in the price which we found very good value for such a quality stay. We have use several bed and breakfast guesthouses in York and this one is the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisMiddlesbroguh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coesfeld
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed the warm welcome with chocolate cake, the comfortable and clean four poster bedroom, the pleasant view onto the river and the nice breakfast. Abbey Guest House is ideally placed for going into the city or visiting the Railway Museum. We also liked the personal tips for sightseeing, depending on how much time you can spend in York.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irmgard87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for our wedding anniversary and could not have wished for better. Lovely hosts, warm welcome with coffee and cake. Parking space alongside house. Lovely room overlooking the river and short walk along riverside into York. Suited us perfectly. The breakfast was perfect too with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night in November, had a lovely comfortable room and no problems with the parking. We had a warm welcome and were recommended places to eat. Fantastic breakfast and husband loved the sausages. A great location and lovely views, hope to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beautiful room (we stayed in one of the 4-poster rooms at the front of the house); not a huge room, but that didn't matter. It was a perfect balance between modern and simple, yet with a homely, personal feel.
Excellent breakfast, very friendly hosts, perfect location, good parking facilities.
We could not find fault with this guest house; we would not hesitate to recommend it, and we would definitely stay here again if we come back to York.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#5 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#48 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.1 mi away
Beech House
Beech House
#55 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 13-14 Earlsborough Terrace | Marygate, York YO30 7BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, friendly Guest House, located on the banks of the river Ouse, only five minutes walk from the city centre, York Minster, the Yorkshire Museum and gardens and the National Railway Museum. Close to both rail and bus stations and all of York's other main attractions. En-suite rooms overlooking the river with great views. All rooms with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet location with free private car parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing