We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$139
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$101
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$254
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
$122
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveler rating
286
55
7
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
286
55
7
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb boverlooking the rivertrain stationbrowniecar parkmuseum gardensshort walkwonderful hostsperfect locationcity centrecomfortable roomstea coffeelovely walkeach morningfull english breakfasta great place to staynice room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 364 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a 17-day vacation in England, North Wales and Scotland. This B&B was as advertised a 15 minute walk from the train station on a foot path crossing the river. Nice walk except for carrying luggage up the steps at both end of the bridge. The place was right on the river and within 10 minute walk to the Abbey and 5 more to town central. The room was large with a sitting area up 1 flight of very steep stairs. The host was very nice and served us coffee and cake on arrival. Breakfast was good. The town was very special especially the Abbey and the museum gardens. We did most everything on our list including walking on the wall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fachambers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I think Kate F must have the wrong establishment! This B & B is in a great location, near the railway station and a short walk down the river, or through the Museum Gardens, into the centre of York. Gill and Alec were warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, wonderful cake and tea on arrival, even though we were early our room was ready for us, smashing breakfasts, we'll definitely stay here again should we visit York.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerslounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I have just spent 5 nights with Gill & Alec at The Abbey Guest House. It was a terrific location, right next to the river, and a very easy walk to the city. We found our hosts more than helpful with information, and tips for our trips around Yorkshire, and of course York.

The room we had was very comfortable, clean and very quiet.

Our breakfasts were plentiful, and Alec cooked the best poached eggs we have ever had!! More than satisfied.

It was a bonus to be right in the city and have secure onsight parking too.

We would recommend this lovely home to anyone who is fortunate to be visiting York.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jools1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very much enjoyed my stay here. It's a great location and owners are really helpful with tips about where to go in York. If you are looking for somewhere to stay for a mini break, I would totally recommend this guest house. Loved my stay and plan to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful location on the riverside and is only a short walk away from the centre... What a shame it is ruined by two very rude owners (husband and wife, I assume). I have no idea why these people are in an area of business which involves communicating with and pleasing other people. Make your own minds up, but I would really recommend avoiding this place, based on the disgusting attitudes of the owners. Our stay was ruined because of the way in which they spoke to us. Have a read of some of the other poor reviews- Plenty of other people saying the same thing.

As for York itself- Great. Lots to see and do, plenty of history/culture and a lovely place to visit for a few hours or a long weekend. Just make sure you don't stay at the Abbey Guest House!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill088, Owner at Abbey Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

We are absolutely devastated by this review and have no idea who has written it. We are trying to contact the person who posted it and have indicated that if we have offended them in any way then we are extremely sorry, but at the moment we cannot trace any guest coming from Middlesborough with the name Kate F staying with us this year so we cannot get in touch with them directly, only through this website.
Once again, to the writer of this review, please do contact us directly so that we can apologise to you for any offence caused, which was most certainly unintentional.
We hope that any readers will look at the previous reviews on this site and know that we have been called 'gracious' hosts and 'welcoming' on many occasions.
Gill & Alec, Abbey Guest House, York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews