We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,237)
Filter reviews
1,237 results
Traveler rating
679
337
128
50
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
337
128
50
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar bar jacuzzi bath character room main building garden room beautiful building top floor eggs benedict central location no lift lovely hotel york minster beer garden fresh milk car park train station cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,237 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely time and would definitely go back. We had a lovely meal on the back outdoor balcony. The staff were very attentive and polite. Highly recommend the fisherman’s platter the runny yoke salmon scotch egg was the highlight of the plate.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Voyage732100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik_Haywood, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this wonderful review. We are very proud of the staff we have here at judges, and I will pass on your lovely comments to them including the chefs, who will be happy to hear the scotch egg was the highlight of your dining experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place to stay in a central spot being only 10 mins walk from the station. Has a nice bar which outside space for hot summer evenings - the bar actually doubles as the breakfast room. Rooms are spacious and clean - mine had a spa bath but no taps to fill it? The one thing that was a let down - breakfast service! Not enough tables to cope with everyone and also disorganized. I heard the staff say everyone has come down at once but we didn't get anyone attend to us for tea/coffee or to take an order until I asked. After ordering the breakfast took an age to come. They really need to get this sorted quickly to be able to cope with a full house when needed!

Room Tip: No lift and the top rooms could be a struggle - nice when you eventually arrive!
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skidmarc3161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik_Haywood, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review and feedback! I am sorry to hear that you felt let down with our breakfast service, Due to age of the building and being grade 1 listed it can be quite difficult at breakfast times, due to the space and layout to seat everyone if all rooms come down at once, we are normally able to accommodate a full house, but on this occasion I see this wasn't the case and I would like to apologise for that. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

I had a lovely stay at this hotel! I was greeted at reception and taken to my room by very friendly and professional staff!
The room was beautiful - modern and fresh but very in keeping with the character of the building! The bathroom was gorgeous!
Fab facilities in the room tea, coffee, fresh milk and homemade biscuits made for a lovely welcome!
Great location for shopping and nightlife in York and also close to the station!! Would definitely recommend- I hope to stay here again!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
Thank kayleighwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik_Haywood, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank your for your fantastic review. The rooms are fantastic, even after the refurbishment they managed to update the rooms but still capturing the characteristics of the age of the building which was built in 1711. We always try our best to make sure all the small details are taken care of so we are please that this was picked up on. We hope you will stay here again too!! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to stay ,very central
No parking space but they advised us of a nearby carpark which was nt too far
The staff were helpful
We stayed in and ate in one evening ,nice food and reasonable price
The room we had was clean ,big enough with a lovely bathroom ,it was in the courtyard
The only drawback was it is opposite the bins and next to two rooms which were storage and that mean t the staff were coming and going ,it is a bit noisy but we still enjoyed ourselves
As we left we were given a little bag of fruit and water to take on our journey
Thank you everyone

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank cathbach50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik_Haywood, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am sorry to hear that the location of the room was a drawback due to the building being grade 1 listed we are limited with changing the room layouts and building layouts, but we do try and make the room as comfortable as possible whilst inside and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the room. I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff who work so hard to ensure every guest has the best experience possible. We have introduced little paper bags with essentials to make your onward travels that little bit easier. We would love to welcome you back In the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

A very strange transformation!
This place had always had a slightly quirky feel inside with a bar which really isn't big enough for the premises. Nice enough but the big plus was the outside space.
The building is a lovely backdrop and the two main trees contributed towards a relaxed and attractive seating area.
In the last months the space has been compromised with what seems to be a greater tolerance of allowing bigger, more raucous groups and to accommodate those there has been an introduction of a mish mash of recycled furniture and large barrels which really do detract from it's appeal.
It seems like they have sold out to the desire to appeal to drinking culture which seems odd when Thwaites portray it as an "inn of distinction" suggesting more than just another town centre pub.
A great shame really because York needed a location like Lodgings used to be but the compromise will unfortunately put off many who wanted something different.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank ChrisBrackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik_Haywood, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your constructive feedback, as an Inn of character we do pride ourselves on the experience of all our customer base and believe we have not compromised. I would be more than happy to discuss this further please contact me on, manager@judgeslodgingsyork.com if I could be any more help. Kin regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews