We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable, warm and friendly - a great experience.”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Divonne-les-Bains, France
2 reviews
“Spacious, comfortable, warm and friendly - a great experience.”
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Highlights of our night here were a. The building: a classic, grade 1 listed structure which they could probably charge an entry fee to look around. b. Super friendly and attentive service (not quite OTT). c. The perfect location from which to access the heart of the city - would have been even better for a multi-night stay. d. Couldn't think of a d. e. Great bar in the basement, with a serious selection of ales and high quality bar grub.
Not cheap, but a real pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0lfinh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    284
    110
    35
    37
See reviews for
144
600
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed at The Judges Lodgings over the valentines weekend. The hotel was quiet and very relaxing. The room was HUGE with a wonderful ensuite bathroom with the biggest jacuzzi bath I have seen. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back, probably for a longer stay to take in all the sights of York.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston Lancs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed at the Judges Lodgings last week (Feb 16th and17th) it was superb in every detail. The staff could not have been more considerate or helpful and the hotel is a wonderful building which has been beautifully refurbished. We ate only breakfasts but on both occasions they were wonderful and very generous. The room, number 5, on the top floor was very comfortable and the bed was luxury itself. Every thing was very clean and well maintained and the hotel is perfectly sited for shopping and or site seeing. The bar loacted inthe cellar is exceptionally well equipped with very friendly and well informed staff onlt to happy yo chat. We will be going back and soon

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svejkprestonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We visited York for the first time in 12 years not knowing what to expect.
No need to worry though the hotel is located right in the centre and unusual for a city centre break we slept very well and the staff were very attentive to our needs.
The hotel is grade 1 listed and recently had a sympathetic upgrading of all rooms.
The staff are obviously very proud of this and the service level shows.
It snowed when we were there so it was great to relax in very comfortable room’s after a day walking around York in a cold wind.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsnotenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugbyfiend15
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2010

What a pleasant change to arrive at a hotel after a stressful day to be greeted with a pleasant "Good Evening Sir. Welcome to the Judges Lodgings. I hope you've had a pleasant day. Is there anything I can get you from the bar whilst I organise your registration?" In the old days, of course, this was standard practice for all hotels but sadly this seems to have been overtaken by the age of hotel chains. I reclined in front of a warming fire on a leather sofa with a pint of "Final Judgement" in my hand [a real ale unavailable anywhere else on the planet!] whilst the necessary paperwork was undertaken by the lady from the office. [No reception desk needed here!] My stay at this newly refurbished boutique hotel simply got better. Alas that it was so short. The newly refurbished room that I stayed in had been appointed to an exceptional standard in a timeless manner that reflects the heritage of the building. The room had the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in and the en suite bathroom has been well thought out with an automatic light on entry so there’s no fumbling for the light switch in the dark.
The food, presently served in the bar was exceptional and freshly cooked by the best Polish chef who has ever been recommended. It was no trouble to make a slight change to my main choice of "Chicken Aesculapius” something which staff in other hotels and restaurants seem so regularly incapable of doing. Breakfast too was excellent, gargantuan in size and came with a wide and varied choice.
In short nothing was too much trouble and the customer was king. I shall certainly recommend it to my colleagues and friends as both a stress free and fulfilling place to stay. I left feeling refreshed ready to start a further day’s work a rare attribute for a hotel when one so often lives out of a suitcase.
And by the way, the hotel is superbly situated for both the train station and the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbyfiend15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle,staffs
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We have stayed in the Judges Lodgings before and it was our first choice when my husband and I decided to return to York. The recent refurbishment made our stay even more pleasurable. We stayed in room 1 which had one of the largest and most comfortable beds we have slept in at a hotel. The bathroom was immaculately finished and the spa bath was extremel relaxing. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Both the breakfasts and the bar meals were delicious to the point that we hardly ate anywhere else. We could not fault anything and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2010

This hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. The rooms are very clean and tastefully furnished. The beds are huge!! The staff are very welcoming and do everything they can to make your stay perfect. Breakfast delivered to the room was marvellous.
The hotel is located centrally for the theatre and shops and all city centre attractions, including views of the Minster.
There is car parking available - a fee charged, but for the location very reasonable.
I would have no hesitation in booking there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moreholsplease007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Property: The Judges Lodging
Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing