We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Judges Lodging
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$137
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$297
$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$130
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$100
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
$100
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$120
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
$143
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,156)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveler rating
638
315
118
44
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
315
118
44
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar barjacuzzi bathcharacter roomlisted buildinggarden roommain buildingbeautiful buildingtop flooreggs benedictlovely hotelcentral locationno liftyork minsterbeer gardenfresh milktrain stationcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
825 - 830 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Having read some mixed reviews, we didnt know what to expect. Reaching the hotel we were met by a very freindly member of staff who took our bag and said the room would be ready shortly. When we returned they had taken the bag to the room, great. The room was on the top floor room 7 (Lendals) its a great size room with everything we needed, it was a hot day so the room was very warm but they had provided 2 fans too help us keep cool. The Breakfast next morning was great. We did have a bit of a wait to check out but the manager said he was in the process of getting some phones so you can ring if nobody is on reception, We did comment on the temperature in the the room and he said he was aware of the problem but said they were unable to fit air-con during the refurb as it is a listed building, Fair enough. We really enjoyed our stay and will recommend! The staff are all doing a great job however there are bound to be a few teething problems which I am sure will be ironed out. Thanks

Room Tip: We would say top floor rooms will be hot in warm weather so if possible choose a lower floor room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoggys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for coming to stop with us and for giving us a 5* review! I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us. It was very warm during your stay so I'm pleased the fans came in useful!
I will pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to having you stop with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is an excellent place, very well situated close to the centre of York and its sights.
The staff were very helpful, though not fast serving food, this didn't matter.
The rooms are great in the main hotel most with excellent views.
My best advice is avoid it on race days as it does get very busy

Room Tip: Chose rooms in the main hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

What a lovely concise review - thank you! I'm delighted you enjoyed your room and found the team helpful. John Smiths day is one of the busier race meetings and there were an awful lot of people around this year with the weather being so nice.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A wonderful place to stay with very comforable, spacious and well decorated rooms. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was fabulous. We hope to return here again.

John and Rebecca Collin

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gozo_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Many thanks for your 5* review and I'm delighted that you had such a great time and that you found the team warm and friendly!
We hope you come and stop with us next time you are in York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a case of not delivering on what is promised. The hotel markets itself very much as a boutique experience, but after a refit, there is much to shake down. The staff are unfailingly smiling, but do nothing about problems. After upgrading us from a very stuffy room 8 to the 'character' room 3, that was pretty much it. The room is large but characteless... a fireplace screams for a painting, a mirror, anything. No bathrobes, but bathroom spotless, even if you forget to close the blinds and drinkers in the garden (their pub business is big) can see you in all your naked glory. Details are ignored: the kettle in the room is placed where there is no power socket - its flex so short that it has to be placed on the floor to be plugged in elsewhere.
Despite comments at our first breakfast, doors are opened again into the garden the next morning so that the 'mood music' which is constantly played in public areas wakes us up before 7am (we like to sleep with the window open). A stepladder is left outside our room all day. There is a fly problem in the entrance hall. Breakfast portions are strictly controlled, so a Yorkshire fry-up is one egg, one sausage, a micro slice of black pudding and brown sauce has to be asked for. This could have been a delightful stay, but small details count in this price bracket, and there is much to remedy.

Room Tip: cheapest at £110 are on the top floor. character room more. rooms at the back are quieter at night, but music will wake up light sleepers in the morning.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank douglasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review and for coming to stop with us.
I am really disappointed that you did not really like our Feature room 3 but I take all of your comments on board. This room is the original bedroom of the house and I think its fair to say that its main features are the ornate high ceilings and the magnificent Minster view.
We do take all feedback seriously and as soon as we heard you were not happy in your original room we were more than happy to move you to a bigger room.
The comments about the music in the morning are entirely valid and I will take this up immediately- especially whilst we are enjoying such a warm spell of weather.
We do offer a full continental buffet and cooked breakfast to all of our guests and we would have been more than happy to bring you extra to your table.
You are absolutely right in stating that it is the small details that matter - thank you once again for taking the time to let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We have visited this venue on many occasions before and were looking forward to visiting it after the lengthy refurb.
On Monday 14 July they could only offer Thwaites or Warsteiner and no other beers were available which was a big disappointment. We ordered a butchers board and that was disappointing compared with The House of Trembling Madness or The Fat Badger in Harrogate in terms of its content and price. We might give it a try again just for the great beers it used to have but probably wouldn't order a platter here - shame

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Paulineripom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Many thanks for your review and I'm sorry we didn't have our full product range on sale when you called in. We did have 5 cask ales on sale today but 3 were off during the early part of lunch due to line cleaning. We will be fully stocked again from Tuesday- we have just underestimated how busy we would be over the weekend and therefore not ordered enough - please accept my apologies for this.
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your platter- these have been extremely popular and the price reflects the cost of the ingredients used.
Next time you call in please let me know and I will be happy to give you a platter to enjoy with your beer on me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews