We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, the location doesn't get much better. We had a room on the top floor with views over to yorkminster. The room was lovely although I do agree with the other reviews that say its quite noisy sometimes. Breakfast is a bit minimal, we only had the hotel breakfast one morning as Bettys tearoom is just around the corner! The staff were very friendly and helpful and offered to keep our bags in the office so we could sightsee before we were allowed to check in. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you well. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

911 - 917 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked into here, as it was on a special from £310 down to £85. What a bargain!
The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are gorgeous. The staff are lovely! Location is perfect!
But the only down side is, the building work. We had read in a note about it that it was all getting refurbished and that the building work would start about 8 in the morning. What we weren't expecting was the hammering and noises which sounded like we were on the track of a Formula1 race from 6:30 in the morning!!
So obviously we weren't happy about that.. Unfortunately we missed breakfast, but it smelt amazing! :) but we would recommend Drakes, which is just a five minute walk from the hotel if you miss breakfast as it was gorgeous!
If the prices stayed at £85 we would definitely be back as it was just beautiful. But we don't understand why anyone would pay £310 a night! As lovely as it was, and how much we'd love to go back, it is definitely not worth the £310.

But if you don't mind the super early wake up call, I'd book into it while it's still cheap! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imstillfalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Many thanks for your review - especially regarding your room and our team! I must apologise if the work disturbed your sleep and I will take this up with the builders as a matter of urgency as work is not allowed to commence until after 8:00am - Monday to Friday and is always finished by 4:00pm. We would be delighted to see you again soon - please be assured that our rates will be reviewed going forward and there are nearly always some great deals available.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel, and I cannot wait to return. The staff were extremely polite, and welcoming. The hotel wowed us and the room itself was just beautiful. A fantastic luxurious jacuzzi bath just put the icing on the cake. The attention to detail from the staff just made our stay extra special. excited to return & see the place in its full glory on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staceyloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Many thanks for your fabulous review and I am so pleased you enjoyed the hospitality. The Jacuzzi baths are very popular with our guests so thank you for your glowing endorsement. We look forward to seeing you again - please follow our building progress on our website blog.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at this hotel before and had a lovely stay so we decided to stay here again, when I booked it we decided to upgrade our room, wish we hadn't as the room we stayed in before was far better. Apart from having a shock when we turned up at the Judges to find out it was covered in plastic which we weren't informed of, we were very disappointed to find out that the bar was also closed and was not offering cooked breakfasts ( that wasn't a problem as we don't have cooked breakfast anyway). We were shown to our room and it was lovely, nice big four poster bed, large bath, separate shower loads of hot water, our real problem was the toilet, no door to the bathroom, not nice, open planned bathroom, it was around a corner but just wasn't nice, I'm not embarrassed easily but that ruined it for us,

We would stay again.
After reading other peoples comments on here was very disappointed that we weren't told about the refurbishment before hand as with all the work going on it was not worth £270 for two nights. We would have chosen to take our break another time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Many thanks for your review. Please accept my apologises that you were not made aware of our building work - this has been picked up with our booking partners. The bar and kitchen will be reopened during the early part of May - again this has been up. The room that you upgraded to was our suite and doe have a more open plan feel and I am sorry that it was not all to your taste. If you would contact me directly to discuss further it would be great to talk to you.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice little hotel. Reasonably priced. Staff were very helpful. Building having some work done at the moment but this did not really affect our stay too much. It is located about 5 mins walk from York minster. nice ambience about the place

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 869AlexF869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased that you found the hotel team very friendly during your stay and enjoyed the ambience. It's also great to hear that the building work did not disrupt your stay at all - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend where we attended a family wedding in York. Our experience was very positive and the staff couldn't do enough for us, being very flexible and helpful (for example dropping the entire wedding party's suits back at the hire shop as they were shut on the Sunday we left!). The hotel is being refurbished, but we knew in advance and received a discount as a result and this did not impact our stay significantly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familytravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for writing this kind review of your stay with us. I hope you all had a fantastic weekend and it was great to meet you all. The icing on the cake was the fabulous weather that you had for the wedding! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during which the whole of the exterior of the hotel and the garden area outside at the front was going through a total refurb. The entire façade of the hotel was covered in scaffolding and plastic sheeting to allow the workmen to get on with the work.

But despite all this, the stay was a pretty decent one. Weeks before arriving, we were contacted by the hotel’s management who informed us of this work and also offered us a nice discount to encourage to still come along. We could have used this opportunity to stay elsewhere but thought that if they were being honest and upfront and giving us a discount, then the place must be worth a visit.

On arrival then we were expecting a bit of a building site so we were prepared for that. But once we were inside of the reception and got a glimpse of the grandeur of the place, we felt we’d made the right decision to stay here.

We’d arrived quite early and the room wasn’t quite ready so we were allowed to store our bags whilst we went for a wander around York. When we came back later, the room was ready and it was a very nice room. It was very spacious with a very large bed, a proper writing desk, huge flat screen TV and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. And as it was an old building, you also get lots of the old fixtures and fittings. In this case you have all the old shutters on the windows which you can close to completely shut out all the light to ensure a good night’s sleep.

The bathroom had a huge Jacuzzi bath in it and a separate shower cubicle which had an endless supply of very hot water.

Breakfast was taken downstairs in an ornate looking room which again has a lot of original features. The room next door was where all the fruit, cereals, toast etc. was which you served yourself with. Tea and coffee was brought to the table by the friendly staff.

As for the location, that was excellent. Pretty much in the centre of everything and you can walk to all the main tourist areas from the hotel. At the time we were there, work was going on to open up the garden at the front which would include a bar, so this would be a nice place to come I imagine once everything is up and running.

As for our stay, we had nothing to complain about and the staff were helpful and friendly. There is also an Ipod dock and free Wi-Fi available throughout, though the logging on system didn’t seem to work quite right on my smartphone but was fine on the laptop.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: You can see York Minster from rooms at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The Judges is a great base to explore York from and we would love to see you again when you visit again.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,524 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $153 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing