We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Happened?”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What Happened?”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was by far the BEST hotel in York. I would have rated it 5 stars until Thwaites Brewery took it over. I stayed there yesterday for the first time since November and was stunned to see
a lack of staff and to discover there was a continental breakfast (of sorts) and that they
had taken the stunning cooked breakfast off the menu completely. The breakfast at the
Judges was probably the best I have had anywhere. The remaining staff were as friendly and
efficient as ever but I guess they dont make the rules. How sad that this beautiful hotel
is seemingly on the way to becoming like all the other "chains".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggieetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Sophie Colacicchi - House Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - although I am disappointed to read that this stay didn’t live up to your previous one. The hotel did change ownership back in November and we had to make some tough decisions about future trading as the kitchen and bar areas needed substantial remedial work.
Our ’town house’ approach with a continental breakfast, has allowed us to continue to offer the great quality accommodation in this prime location whilst this work is undertaken. It is a very temporary measure and just as soon as we are able we will be back to offering a full Yorkshire breakfast once more. Our future plans are focussed around retaining the charm and character of this lovely old lady and once complete I hope that perhaps you will re-visit us to see first-hand that it is definitely not just another chain hotel and we can regain out 5 star rating from you.

Kind regards,
Sophie Colacicchi - House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    276
    109
    35
    35
See reviews for
139
586
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had been recommended here and had planned to stay for one night, we loved the hotel and the city so much we ended up staying for three nights. We had a room on the top floor which was huge, charming and just beautiful with a view of York Minster...lit up at night was quite spectacular. The staff were young and probably a bit too casual for a hotel , but were so friendly and helpful, they made us feel right at home, were very interesting to talk to to the point that we hugged them all when we left!.
There was a great open fire place in the foyer where you could get wifi and the position in the town was absolutely perfect, walking distance to absolutely everything.
We were able to park our car here which was a total bonus as parking in this medieveil city is very challenging.
The building is so old, but so charming, a huge spiral staircase which is stunning.
The furniture and linen all excellent quality, the bed was king and very comfortable. Very well catered for, beautiful white fluffy towels, fresh water and bathroom toiletries were nice quality, the breakfast was also very good and included in the price. We loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 up the top but saw several of the rooms and they all looked great and quite room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loveachardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Sophie Colacicchi - House Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We loved having you here as our guests too. Thank you for the lovely review, we’re so pleased you enjoyed the Judges Lodgings and our fantastic city. Come back and see us on your next trip to the UK.

Kind regards,
Sophie Colacicchi - Hourse Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great location and great staff. I stayed here in February and decided it was worth a re-visit. Rooms are well equipped. Fab shower and bath and even includes luxury toiletries. Very warm and welcoming rooms when returning at night from the cold outside. It is an impressive building and is a little querky. It is no more expensive then some other hotels we looked at.

Breakfast is a continental and more then enough, they even supplied the gluten free bread.

We tavelled as a family and the family room proved to be a bit small for 4 so one of the children was moved to their own room which was a welcomned bonus and was no problem at all for the staff. Even with all the emails and requests befor our arrival, nothing seemd too much trouble.

Very knowledgeable of the area and always welcomed with a smile and nothing was too much trouble.

Yes there were one or two quibbles but all hotels have these. There was a party opposite that went on until 3am, but it is christmas and you expect this. It is after all an old building and you would not expect double glazing.

It was a shame about the cellar bar as been in before and it was great, hopefully re-opens soon.

Thank you for looking after us, we really enjoyed your hospitality and would not hesitate to recommend you again.

Room Tip: We had a single and a suite in the "newer block".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Sophie Colacicchi - House Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind review – we’re so pleased you all had a great stay. We’re working with the architects and planners now on the re-development of the cellar bar, and it all looks very exciting. We’ll post regular updates on our website if you want to keep track on our progress.

Kind regards,
Sophie Colacicchi - House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

we had a good stay here the hotel has a great location for central york
Breakfast was first class and the staff were very good, friendly and helpful, room 4 is small but is well equipped.
Unfortunatley the mattress was cheap and very uncomfortable so not a good nights sleep, I would stay here again but I would ask for a different room.

Room Tip: room 4 has a very uncomfortable mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseburnPitlochry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Sophie Colacicchi - House Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We purchased the Judges Lodgings on Monday 12th November – and in time, it will be joining our small, but growing group of Thwaites Inns of Character. Our plans include a full audit of all the guest rooms, and we’ll certainly make sure that the mattresses are checked and replaced as needed. All of our rooms are individual, but as you rightly comment offer all the amenities you needed. It was great to read that you had found the team to be friendly and helpful and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Sophie Colacicchi - House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked Room 2 (four poster bed) for our wedding night a whole TEN months before the date,which was confirmed by e mail. BUT when we arrived at 1am we were shown to Room 3 after being told Room 2 was already occupied. To say we were very disappointed after our fairytale wedding day in the city is an understatement!

The following morning after enjoying a lovely breakfast we went to check out and sought out the manager to complain about the room.

His first offer was to charge us full price for the room we had been in, which we weren't happy with because this didn't compensate for our disappointment. After a 10 minute standoff the manager reluctantly gave us a more substantial discount, which we were happier with.

He still offered no apology.

All in all a disappointing first night/morning to married life.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify your room number and recheck this just before you travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great hotel, very clean with good service, professional, friendly and helpful reception staff, Sophie and Martha. They have good knowledge of local attractions, bar, restaurants.
Well located in a city center close to some great eating places. Thank you for our beautiful stay. We will back again.

Room Tip: Room 1. Superior Bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Someone2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Judges lodging because of its location and the fact that it is a wonderful grade1 listed building. There is no hotel car park and you have to park in a public car park and walk. It took several attempts before reception managed to book the correct date, room type, etc. There didn’t appear to be a proper reception desk and, although the staff were perfectly friendly, service appeared to be a bit haphazard and amateurish. We couldn’t help but get the impression that the hotel was run on a shoestring. It seemed a bit empty for July. The room was fine, if a bit too hot. We were woken by unloading in a service yard behind the hotel. Breakfast was fine, although we only had boiled eggs on toast. I am told the real ale bar used to be renowned, but the cellar bar was empty and the real ales were limited to one which tasted off. Perhaps not the best value hotel in York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandSeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Property: The Judges Lodging
Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing