We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lowther

The Lowther
Ranked #355 of 860 Restaurants in York
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

When we got inside we had to move seats because it smelt like sick around the glass collection point. there was hardly anybody in so i don't know why it smelt so bad there, anyway we found a table that was ok, we had bread and balsamic vinegar and oil to start. the bread was very nice but the oil and balsamic vinegar was pretty tasteless. the steak and ale suet pudding i had tasted very nice inside but i couldn't eat the pastry because it was so hard and thick so really i had pie filling and veg. the gravy was very tasty and so were the hand cut chips, my boyfriends burger was very nice he said although the burger came on a bap that was oblong so the burger was drowned in bun. all in all it was very average so nothing to shout about, we wouldn't go back next time were in york though as i think we paid far too much for what was offered.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Otley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    98
    65
    35
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We visited the Lowther last Sunday afternoon and we were served by efficient friendly staff,there was plenty of choice on the menu,I had the Scampi which was lovely especially enjoyed the chips.We had a nice window seat over looking the river,and what a nice place to people watch.
Will return the next time we visit York,it is pub grub but it is also cheap and cheerful

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanetteplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a good advert”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Went in for a drink late afternoon, menu and drinks offer looked good,serving hot food till 9pm.
Returned just after 8pm, all the menus had been taken off the tables and told there was no food service! Not even an apology from the staff who appeared completely uninterested and unprofessional!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Delia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub Grub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have visited this pub on many occasions and it was lovely to see it has had a tasteful refurbishment! We visited on a Sunday afternoon and had a late lunch. The menu was extensive and reasonably priced. The staff are friendly and competent. Will definitely visit again when next in the lovely City of York! Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“£2:50 for half a lemonade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Lowther renovation makes it unrecognisable and much lovelier than when I lived in York. But 1/2 lager was £1:75. Treble shot of Malibu and lemonade was £3:50. 1/2 lemonade was £2:50. Don't really need to say much else. Don't go here if you want to drink soft drinks!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lowther also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Lowther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing