We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Food, Brilliant Service, Brilliant Staff. Overall Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jinnah Restaurant York - CLOSED

Jinnah Restaurant York
Price range: $1 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food, Brilliant Service, Brilliant Staff. Overall Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a fantastic place to go for dinner, my partner and I have been back multiple times, never to be disappointed (seriously like 15 times plus over the past couple of years) the food always changes, there is always a nice choice, something for everyone hot & spicy, middle and mild.

The staff here are a credit, especially Faruq, he is friendly, chatty, interesting, and always remembers our names!

Awesome restaurant, the buffet is incredible value, always on top form.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    86
    18
    19
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I Absolutely loved this meal best Indian meal I've ever had, the food was delicious and the service was brilliant the staff were very kind and generous, I will definitely be visiting again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went there with our little one after reading the good reviews and were very disappointed to say the least.

The table was full of paint splatters, probably from last time they painted the ceilings... The menus as well as the cutlery were all dirty.

They were three waiters serving three tables and yet we still had to wait to have our order taken and wait some more for our drinks.One of the waiter kept walking around the tables with is phone and even talking to customers with his phone in his hands! The others waitress kept washing tables and couln't be asked to empty the tables between the services.
At one point half the kitchen was outside smoking through a doorway in view of all the customers, needless to say all the smell came through the dining area!


We ordered poppadums that came with a tray of sauce that seemed to have been there for a week. The mains were served lukewarm and bland.

The only good point is that we had a tastecard which saved us a bit if money of the bill.Overall it was bad experience, would't recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexlabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I come from Bedford for the weekend and went to Jinnah restaurant in York,the food was delicious and the service was brilliant the atmosphere was great to really made us feel right at home,would definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sehrish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent service highly recommended, staff was very pleasant food was also brilliant, I will be visiting again very soon

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Naheed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jinnah Restaurant York also viewed

 
Sutton on the Forest, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing