We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious & affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jinnah Restaurant York - CLOSED

Jinnah Restaurant York
Price range: $1 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious & affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My friend and I stumbled across the restaurant while locating the meeting point for The Original Ghost Walk of York (just around the corner). We were hungry for dinner and saw the sign for a £10 dinner buffet so we decided to go in. What a great deal it was! Included in the £10 per person price was a starter of poppadums with an assortment of chutneys and dips. Next came a plate of assorted appetizers and salad for each of us. Then we were free to load up on rice and mains at the buffet. There was a great selection of both meat and vegetarian curries, which I was pleased about as I am veggie. They also brought us a huge naan bread. I am really happy we came across this restaurant, as we got a ton of food for an affordable price. Also, the staff were very nice and accommodating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    86
    18
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inpressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

It is few and far between when I am not disappointed when visiting a restaurant.
However on this occasion I was really impressed.
Not only with the food but also the price.
I went for the buffet for less than a tenner, and was surprised to find it included 2 starters as well as 12 dishes from the buffet.
I have lived in asia, visited india and China, and can honestly say this is as good as you can get in the UK.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nudger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“all good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

altogether a good experience. decor good, service good, food good. The (huge) naan and the crisp onion bhajees were the best things, but we were pleased, after some less than good experiences in "indian" restaurants, that standards were consistently high

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't be beaten on taste, value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just been for the buffet to this restaraunt and the service was excellent yet again kind and friendly staff who go out of their way without any effort, service is second to none, and the food was better than I have ever had before. Little chef cooks the most tasty amazing food it was just exquisite we came away as always full to the brim but with smiles on our faces. Thank you Jinnah York you really are the best curry house not only in the centre of York but Yorkshire. Hope to see you again very soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Superb value for money & excellent choice of dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We’ve been regulars at a sister Jinnah restaurant for many years so knew what to expect when visiting the York restaurant for the first time, tasty food at keen prices. It is located close to the waterfront just around the corner from the Grand Opera House so is handily placed for a pre-show meal.
We opted for the Grand Kashmiri Buffet, excellent value at £9.95 and we knew we’d leave with hunger well satisfied. The range of buffet main course dishes is excellent and all dishes are clearly labelled with name and mid/medium/hot etc. so you can get a feel of what you like and therefore know what to ask for next time you’re ordering from a menu or at your local takeaway. You’re bound to try and like dishes that you’ve never had before. Just writing the review is making my mouth water, that’s how good it is!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WirralTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jinnah Restaurant York also viewed

 
Flaxton, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
Bishopthorpe, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing