We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nicely scary bit of entertainment”
Review of The York Dungeon

The York Dungeon
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$49.31*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #3 of 22 Fun & Games in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 2000 Years of York's Dark Grizzly History! The York Dungeon is a must-see, uniquely thrilling attraction that will take you back to the city's darkest history. See, hear, smell and feel York's stories come to life before your eyes as frighteningly funny characters transport you through time. Surprises await you at The Dungeon... Fear the Vikings as they invade and conquer York. Discover Guy Fawkes' Gunpowder Plot and what really happened that November night. Will you crack under the pressure of the Torturer and his intimidating instruments? Step inside Castle Prison and delve into Dick Turpin's infamous crimes. Visit our website for more information on opening times. Plus book your tickets online to save money and guarantee entry!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A nicely scary bit of entertainment”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent an amusing hour in here jumping and shrieking, but most of all laughing. The hosts are entertaining, and the stories almost believable - well, some of them. Visited on York Pass so cost not an issue. Easy to find, and a great way to spend an hour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceebeeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,921
    956
    323
    101
    67
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Brilliant! Expect some scares though!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Several children were in my tour group - I was freaked out so I hate to think how they felt! Very jumpy but fantastic. Not sure I'd pay 16 each for it - we had a 2 for 1 voucher from Tesco.

The acting skills from the actors was outstanding, the work involved in timing everything with the lights and sounds made each performance really effective.

Special mention for the golden fleece pub performance, the little guy in there was fantastic. The torturer was great too, very amusing!

Great scripts, scenery and actors, many scary and funny moments, I can't recommend this place enough. Just go, you won't regret it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be ready for surprises in the dark !!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

On entering, a photo is taken of you with head in stocks or holding an axe so you may purchase at the end of the tour. ( £8 ). The entrance fee was £16 each which I thought a little expensive although the tour through the various very atmospheric rooms with individual actors in period dress was very entertaining. The tour itself lasted round about an hour or so and if you are a decent sport and do not mind a little participation when called upon to do so, you should have an enjoyable time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent adventure”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This place was well worth the visit. Really good stories and good actors to get you involved. We went there as a couple and it was just us in there but the actors got us both involved, made us jump and made us laugh a lot!

Get yourself booked in online for a good price and no queues and you'll have a great time! (or a horrible time as its a scare fest!)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Im 25 and thought this was soooo brilliant and really funny!!!! The actors were fantastic and id say its soooo worth the money! We had such a giggle and yet scared at the same time! You have to go here if u visit york! Ignore the bad reviews because we thought this was the highlight of our stay in york! Very very funny.you get took into different rooms by different actors and they all did brilliant!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chezza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The York Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The York Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing