We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun”
Review of The York Dungeon

The York Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.78*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #3 of 24 Fun & Games in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 2000 Years of York's Dark Grizzly History! The York Dungeon is a must-see, uniquely thrilling attraction that will take you back to the city's darkest history. See, hear, smell and feel York's stories come to life before your eyes as frighteningly funny characters transport you through time. Surprises await you at The Dungeon... Fear the Vikings as they invade and conquer York. Discover Guy Fawkes' Gunpowder Plot and what really happened that November night. Will you crack under the pressure of the Torturer and his intimidating instruments? Step inside Castle Prison and delve into Dick Turpin's infamous crimes. Visit our website for more information on opening times. Plus book your tickets online to save money and guarantee entry!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“great fun”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

me & my partner had a weekend away in york for her birthday spent all weekend visiting the sights in york this was by far the most fun had a great time a must for all the family to visit,
wil visit again when back in york

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris-l118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,008
    992
    333
    106
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gateshead
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Would not recommend visiting the dungeons at all. Felt totally ripped off at £15.60 each just to be shouted at by rubbish actors. Nothing to read, nothing informative and the more i think about it I should have gone and asked for my money back. Am quite sure we didn't receive full tour either.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank andi01Gateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little to see, quite boring.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I visited today with my husband. Very little to see in terms of real torture displays/ apparatus etc, more of an exhibit for the employed students/ ex student actors and more jumpy than anything. Spent too long waiting in-between 'scenes' along the tour, which we found infuriating . Glad we had the two for one voucher as we would have felt totally ripped off otherwise, as it was definitely not worth the admission fee of £15.60 per adult!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst_Angel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Attraction in York!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The York Dungeon is a fantastic experience for all to enjoy (perhaps not under 10's though)!! Myself and my partner visited the dungeons in September 2012, and had a great time. You see York's horrid history being brought back to life with talented actors and actresses leading you through a previous life. It isn't cheap to visit the dungeon, as its around £15pp to get in, however, i feel it was value for money and would reccommend any body to visit (even if you are a big scardy pants and terrified of blood like me haha)!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fun.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just something a bit different, great fun a few frights and we all got involved. WE booked online in advance and got a great deal!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The York Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The York Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing