We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take kids. Good for a laugh.”
Review of The York Dungeon

The York Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.27*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #3 of 23 Fun & Games in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 2000 Years of York's Dark Grizzly History! The York Dungeon is a must-see, uniquely thrilling attraction that will take you back to the city's darkest history. See, hear, smell and feel York's stories come to life before your eyes as frighteningly funny characters transport you through time. Surprises await you at The Dungeon... Fear the Vikings as they invade and conquer York. Discover Guy Fawkes' Gunpowder Plot and what really happened that November night. Will you crack under the pressure of the Torturer and his intimidating instruments? Step inside Castle Prison and delve into Dick Turpin's infamous crimes. Visit our website for more information on opening times. Plus book your tickets online to save money and guarantee entry!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't take kids. Good for a laugh.”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Lasting about an hour, this tour was good. Funny and also a bit scary, but more because you don't know what's next rather than the actual attraction being scary. We checked in every room that the walls were stable to reduce the chance of someone popping out behind us!
In my opinion, I wouldn't take children under maybe 12, not even babies because although they won't know what's going on, there is shouting and loud noises that can scare.
If you don't mind getting squirted with water by all means stand at the front....

Worth the entrance fee and enjoyable.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank supertourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,946
    971
    328
    103
    68
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The title says it all! My 10 year old gripped my hand tightly a few times while my 13 year old took it in her stride - I think it is the darkness and anticipation of what might possibly happen that causes the fear!! The staff were very professional and each performance very good. The gift shop was very cramped but at least that meant we spent less money!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LJW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Hi everyone, we went for a day out in York and we visited York dungeons its a must as you will really enjoy yourself.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandMac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Entertainment”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We went with children 8-13,( 4 boys) all thoroughly enjoyed themselves, a lot better than anticipated, very good actors and scenery.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My teenage son's enjoyed this and so did we , not suitable for young children as my 12 year old was on edge . Quite dark inside but fun and the actors are great , one in particular managed to scare me four times in burn the witch room . Go online to book the tickets as door prices are expensive !!! We stayed in Hotel 53 which was modern clean , good value and ideal location right in centre , family room for £60 breakfast not included on late rooms.com . Worth paying £10 for the Hotel parking as it seems to be expensive parking in town .Wetherspoons over the road for breakfast as Hotel was £10 adults and £5 children . Don't miss the tour bus , £20 for a family but we got it for £11 if you stand there long enough as they fight for your custom . You can hop on and off all day for 24 hours so tired feet were in heaven .
Railway museum is FREE and the tour bus takes you near to it, but you need to take plenty of money as everywhere else you have to pay !! We went as a family of four so best going into town Tesco to stock up drinks, sweets etc .

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank missred2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The York Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The York Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing