We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yorkshire Museum

Yorkshire Museum
Ranked #31 of 199 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover thousands of years of York's history in one place, from prehistory to the city's medieval splendour. Walk on a genuine Roman mosaic floor, kneel at St William's shrine, see the monsters of the deep that swam when Yorkshire was beneath the see and much more in our fantastic galleries in the hear of the city.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

A nice place but Id see this museum before the others, its not as good as the York Museum. Interesting but we weren't too impressed as we had seen better the day before. Id also advise doing the 2 for 1 ticket as paying £7 for this museum would be a little steep.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    211
    134
    35
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tourism awards 2011 winner :o)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very interesting/enlightening......extremely well set out and displayed. Good sized cinema/introduction.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrandadScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but allow plenty of time to get your money's worth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The entry price was a bit steep for this type of museum and it had perhaps raised my expectations a little too high, although it does have that shiny, new feel you get from a recently redeveloped attraction. You can re-use your ticket as many times as you like within a year which I'd like to do even though we don't live locally. The staff were very friendly and it has several excellent, internationally, important objects that I was very impressed with.

I think you need to be in the mood to take a good hour - 2 hours to really appreciate what you're looking at but I'd definitely recommend it if you're into prehistory, natural history or archaeology. There's some fascinating dinosaurs, extinct animals and (real) human remains with battle traumas. If you prefer modern, social history you might be better trying the Castle Museum or The Jorvik Centre if you've got young children - you can't go far wrong for museums in York though!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“York Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

In the event of trying to escape the rain that was chucking it down, I thought that I would pop into the Yorkshire Museum.
The museum was interesting to a point although I found that it was heavily driven towards the younger generation.
This is a good thing I guess but when you have 1-2 years olds screaming in a confined space well my ears were hurting to say the least.
The bits worth seeing are the roman history on ground floor, the chapter house that is incorporated into the basement & the beautiful middleham jewel which I could happily look at for hours, there is also an interesting video that's tucked away by the period costumes that talks to real people locally & discusses the cities attitude to conservstion.
Aside from the above 2 I found it a little difficult to charge £7.50 entry (although that allows a years unlimited visiting).
Overall it's a good museum if u live locally its free as well but if you are visiting I think it may be one to do next time!

Helpful?
1 Thank redbuddha1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely little Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a really nice little museum. It has a nice aray of artifacts, and it is not over packed, like you can get in some museums.

A must for museum fans.

Helpful?
Thank Cloud2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorkshire Museum also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Yorkshire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing