We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous re incarnation of an old Victorian street”
Review of York Castle Museum

York Castle Museum
Ranked #2 of 204 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Famous for its collections of costume, textiles, military and social history, York Castle Museum brings history back to life. Wander through the Victorian streets, venture into the prison cell of notorious highwayman Dick Turpin and discover what life was like on the front line in the First World War. There's something for everyone at York Castle Museum.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous re incarnation of an old Victorian street”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Walking down 'Kirkgate' is akin to travelling back in time or wandering onto a period film set. There is fantastic attention to detail, from the hansom cab on the cobbled street to the re created shops staffed by actors in full costume, regaling the passing punters with tales of their trade. Enchanting stuff!

Great shop if you are looking for tasteful souvenirs and presents from York too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joeb1kinobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,543
    1,682
    368
    88
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loads to see (but makes you feel old!)”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Being born and brought up in York, I have visited this museum many times and still love to return when I can. The room sets are particularly interesting, and there are always people saying, "We had one of those!" or something similar.

There is so much to see that you would need several visits to take everything in.

Last time I went, I agreed to Gift Aid my entrance fee, being a UK taxpayer, and was told that I could visit as many times as I wanted for the next 12 months at no extra charge. What a bonus!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTravellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were looking for something to kill some time and we decided to take a trip here. It had some interesting exhibitions and we liked the Victorian street.We also found the prison interesting as well, we had planned to visit it but hadn't realised it was part of the museum.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Franki267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must see more than once!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Fantastic day out for any age group. Give yourself plenty time to look around here as there is genuinely tons to see.
The first time I visited here I sat through the classroom experience. Wonderful stuff!!
Best day out in York!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PetuniaG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for the young and old”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My fiance and I are both in our mid twenties and we enjoyed this museum very much. This museum shows you all the victorian life and even old prison cells. So much to see and even a victorian road in the middle of the museum. Had a really good day out here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank xloudedahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Castle Museum also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Castle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing