We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Castle Museum

York Castle Museum
Ranked #2 of 199 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Famous for its collections of costume, textiles, military and social history, York Castle Museum brings history back to life. Wander through the Victorian streets, venture into the prison cell of notorious highwayman Dick Turpin and discover what life was like on the front line in the First World War. There's something for everyone at York Castle Museum.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Trip back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were fascinated seeing what living in York was like 200 years ago. In particular the street scenes are quite outstanding. Other sections of the museum had an interesting exhibition of the 60s.
Thought it a bit odd that there seem to be nothing about the big part the church played in peoples lives at that time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,239
    1,588
    351
    86
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Lovely blast from the past !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We wanted to take our 9 yr old son out yesterday for Easter Monday ( 1/ 4 /13 ) somewhere indoors & educational but fun as the cold weather is lingering on. I suddenly thought of the castle museum in York which I had visited with my Mum when I was a kid. It proved to be a very enjoyable couple of hours for all 3 of us. My husband & I thought it was very good value at £8.50 each adult but with our son going free. The Victorian street of shops was just as I remembered it, very interesting to browse round, it brings history to life with it's sounds, smells etc. My hubbie & I really enjoyed spotting toys from our childhood & showing them to our son in the toy stories gallery. The prison museum bit was a bit spooky & dark but our son likes Horrible Histories so it wasn't too scarey for him. My son & I enjoyed having a skip in the outdoor playground ! The sixties gallery was a bit before our time but our son loved the tv clip of old Dr Who. Altogether I would definately recommend this museum for all age groups.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MattAndLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetney
Level Contributor
302 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Takes you back every generation. Something for everyone.
Grandson loved the cell Dick Turpin was in before he was hanged.
Good social history museum

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kayerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bit naff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

They need to change the name of this Museum as it has nothing to do with any castle that was in York....in fact it didn't seem to really be about York at all!
Definitely not worth the money!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Take advantage of 2 museums offer for £10 for 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a day out in York and thought we would revisit YCM as it had been a few years since the last time.

Went online to get current admission charge and noted they had an offer where you paid £10 each adult which allows you to visit this museum and the Yorkshire Museum.It is valid for all 2013 and you can revisit any time during that year.

We spent so long in YCM as there had been a number of new additions since our last visit. We will be returning at some point to do the other museum.

This offer means we will have saved £6 each to do the 2 museums.

PS, Additional note. We were travelling by coach which left from Gillyeygate. Thought we would use the tollets before we set off. Their charge is 40p. As it was 1st April we thought it was an April Fools joke. Refused to pay that. What a rip off.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dink12Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Castle Museum also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Castle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing