We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Cabra Verde”
Review of Cabra Verde Restaurant - CLOSED

Cabra Verde Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated right in the centre of York on one of York's oldest snickleways this chic and stylish cafe-restaurant resides in a grade 2 listed Victorian building.The building is classically double fronted and from the front door you are lead into a a modern minimalist space which has 34 covers and features stylish tulip tables with deceptively comfortable panton chairs. During the day the restaurant is light, bright and airy and in the evening is candlelit for more intimate dining.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch at Cabra Verde”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

6 portions of Tapas, wow, the best I've ever had.
Tried this restaurant for the first time last week and really enjoyed the food.
It's tucked away off the main streets in York but when you find it and try the food you will be back for more. What a find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    24
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tapas restaurant; a hidden gem in York”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Despite claiming to know York really well, I hadn't heard of Cabra Verde on Peter Lane until we visited last month. We booked for dinner after reading other recent TripAdvisor reviews and weren't disappointed.

The restaurant itself is small and the atmosphere fairly intimate. The décor is modern and understated, similar to the menu, which is paired-down compared to some other Spanish restaurants (an advantage as it happens), and offers a selection of traditional tapas with a modern twist. We dispensed with nibbles and instead chose six tapas dishes to share between us. All were delicious and well-presented - the chorizo and chick pea dishes were our favourites. Service was excellent; helpful and friendly.

A really nice bottle of Tempranillo, a glass of sherry and a shared desert (an orangey, cakey thing which was, again, really good) came to around £50 which we decided was very good value indeed. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, great food, magnificent meringues.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We enjoyed a really good lunch here. The tapas selection was good although I wouldn't say cheap. Worth it though. They do the most amazing meringues which are huge and exactly what a meringue should be. My friend prefers this café to Bettys, and I must say that the service is friendly and prompt but not pushy. Very relaxing and tucked away from the bustle yet still in the heart of the city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spanish Tapas Treat”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The only tell tale sign that a restaurant was even up this alleyway in central York, was a sign displaying the restaurant name and a picture of a green goat! It would have been so very easy to miss! Don't walk on by as that would be a big shame. This tapas restaurant is lovely.

The white décor is ultra modern and it has a relaxed but 'cool' feel right from when you walk in. The waitress was attentive, efficient and knowledgeable. More importantly the food was delicious and beautifully presented with a modern twist. It was apparent that great care was taken over the ingredients and everything tasted very fresh. Price was reasonable but portions for some of the plates we chose seemed a little on the small side. Still it was great to find somewhere new to go in York especially somewhere so central. A perfect place for lunch and a light evening meal.

It was not very busy on a Thursday night but I am sure in the very near future it will be impossible to get a table without a reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poker-Queen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Big and wonderful taste of regional Spain in a small place”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very nice and clean place with fresh Spanish tapas, nibbles, main dishes, wine and deserts etc …
Great and prompt service, overall very nice, we certainly enjoyed it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabra Verde Restaurant also viewed

 
Nether Poppleton, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing