We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enthralling”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Treasurer's House

Treasurer's House
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.98*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #16 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Step through 2,000 years of history with one visit to this house of dreams, where rooms are set up and furnished to mirror the grand styles from medieval times to the early 1900's.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enthralling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

All the years I lived in York and subsequently visited my son here I have never ventured inside this lovely house. What a surprise! Amazing place and the attic tour of the Edwardian servants' quarters was quite brilliant. The tearooms downstairs were a gem. Ran out of time but will be back to do the cellar tour without a doubt.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank madisonWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    437
    84
    20
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting House, take the cellar tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent a couple of hours in the house, friendly staff and a nice cafe make for a pleasing experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nutkins47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in York!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place is excellent, quietly tucked away behind the Minster. We spent a lovely few hours here looking around the house and then doing the Attic and Cellar tours. I highly recommend both of the tours, David the tour guide is a great guide, we enjoyed listening to him.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiwiNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have visited York many times but never visited the Treasurers house before despite being a National Trust member. It's a lovely building and well worth a visit, we didn't manage to do the haunted cellar tour but will be back for that in the future

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hlrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

first time to the treasurers house although have been to york loads of times. we really enjoyed it with people in each room telling you facts it is really interesting and you find out lots of information. the little tea room and cafe were nice too

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treasurer's House also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Treasurer's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing