We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairfax House

Fairfax House
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.52*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #14 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step back in time when you visit this 18th-century town house, one of the finest examples of rococo decoration in England with its famous Terry collection of furniture and clocks.
Manchester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I visited in December 2010 and it was decorated for Christmas! Only downside was no photo's allowed. Very nice and worth a look arround if you have time.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank MovieGirlManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    200
    43
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Gives you a great sense of life in Regency England”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I've read a lot of historical novels set in the Regency period so Fairfax House made all of those descriptions of period decor, dress, cuisine and manners come alive. The guides (whom I believe are volunteers) are sweet, generally well-informed and willing to take time to answer questions and find you an answer to any they don't know.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SolaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Dragged my husband into this Georgian house and he loved it as much as me. Each room has a volunteer guide in who is bursting with interesting information. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cammymammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a must see! beautifully restored house, well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Fairfax house is a little gem set in the city centre of york it was the home of Viscount Fairfax, built by the architect John Carr it boasts magnificent interiors and contains the furniture collection of Noel Terry. The house itself has a great story to tell helped by people in each room to ask questions and explain some of the history. Such as its previous uses as a cinema and a night club.


I would certainly say its one of the best attractions in York

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank rafarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb house, furniture and costumes, with informative room stewards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

This would not be every ones favourite place but for fans of the Georgian period it has to be a mandatory visit. In some ways I do not wish to over-sell the experience as fundamentally it is a house with some very fine ceilings and furniture. The room stewards are all knowledgeable, some of them exceptionally well informed about portraiture and fashion of the period.

I would not recommend it to people will smallish children and those who care little for history. They would clutter up the rooms : ). Space could be an issue I suspect in peak periods the visit would be less pleasurable.

The exhibition of Georgian dress adds greatly to the interest and I hope that can be a regular feature. I do see that in the evenings the house can be rented out for events - I imagine any enterprising up-market tour company would add that to their programme.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank dieseltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairfax House also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fairfax House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing