We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
York
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Railway Museum
York Pass
39 Reviews
from $59.02
More Info
from $6,551.02
More Info
Reviews (17,952)
Filter reviews
17,952 results
Traveler rating
13,124
3,905
722
130
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
13,124
3,905
722
130
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flying scotsman royal carriages bullet train free entry train enthusiast steam engine love trains station hall suggested donation all ages main hall well worth a visit free attraction on display few hours york station great place to visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 17,952 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Railway museum very interesting for all age groups, visited around lunch time not many groups of children due to time of year

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank lescooke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this site back in September 2019 with my sister who is a train nerd. She thoroughly enjoyed her visit, particularly seeing the Mallard and we were both fascinated to see a portion of the Eurotunnel.
The museum is very large and many hours can be spent exploring the various warehouses. There are talks and presentations throughout the day, I particularly enjoyed the turntable talk (however couldn't help but cringe at the amount of children sticking their hands out after the tour guide specifically stated all limbs should be kept far away. Please parents, watch your children during the talk for their safety!)
My sister enjoyed the upstairs balcony, which provides a viewing platform for York station - she was able to tick off each train as it came in and out. Great wee bonus for the train fans.
As one of the very few (if not only?) free attractions in York, I highly recommend spending some of your time here. It's a less than 45 minute walk from the city centre (maybe even 30), and it's very easy to find.
Staff were also very knowledgeable too - my sister quizzed two men about some of the exhibits and they were able to keep up with her no issue.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Deductress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We took the trolley bus from outside York Minster,think it was £3.00 each way.Nobody else on it,worth it to give feet a rest.

Entry was free,although they do ask for a charitable donation on entry.

Not that busy at time of our visit around 2pm.An enjoyable way to pass a few hours even if you're not a train lover like me.Very interesting to see carriages of Queen Victoria and other Royals,how things used to be.

Enjoyed our visit.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank lbalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Free entry. Superb exhibit. Very helpful staff. Wholly recommend. Great location 10 min walk from York Station.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

The national railway museum is brilliant and being free is good. There collection of locomotives and coaches is great and all in amazing condition. Being able to get on to some of the trains is really good. The shop is very good. The main restaurant has a very good menu and good prices.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Eatonphotography2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews