We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well maintained attraction”

National Railway Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.56*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a fantastic day out for the whole family in York, visit the award winning National Railway Museum. Get up close to over 300 years of fascinating history in York's only National Museum. Explore our giant halls full of trains and railway legends including the majestic Duchess of Hamilton, step on to the futuristic Japanese Bullet Train or marvel at the stunning opulence of the Royal Trains. Get on board awe-inspiring locomotives, watch our engineers at work in the Workshop, uncover hidden treasures in the Warehouse and make tracks to the outdoor area. The children can let off steam in our outdoor play area, and our miniature railway ride is perfect for the whole family. Every weekend and throughout the school holidays, the kids can enjoy a lively programme of events, including science shows, story telling, steam rides, craft activities and special events. Please note that calls to our listed phone number (0844...) cost 4.25p per minute plus your phone company's access charge.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well maintained attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great value, whilst advertised as free they do ask for a donation which we happily gave. Both pushchair and wheelchair friendly. Plenty to see, we'll kept and clean.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1FlyingKiwi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,978
    2,873
    526
    91
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to visit, even if you're not a railway fanatic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Wish we could have spent longer here. Really interesting engines and rolling stock, as well as lots of other railway "stuff". Well presented. Free entrance, only a few minutes walk from centre of York.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank petercot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place - for enthusiasts and others alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Free entry but everyone makes a donation . Well set out with good descriptions . About 2 hours is enough unless you have an anorak .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tractorboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit - last time I was here was 2 years ago.

Quite a few things have moved round and there seemed to be marginally less to look at.

Nevertheless being able to get up close with so many extraordinary railway exhibits is impressive.

Probably the best bit is the archive section with literally thousands of fascinating objects piled up on shelves. I would have spent hours reading all the labels. Lots and lots of detail and context which is great.

Had lunch in the cafe. Very nice soup and sandwiches. Nothing to write home about!

All round a great day out and completely free.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynnburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FREE museum but food expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We live in York so often take advantage of the FREE entry to the museum to let our grandson have a wander around. Today we went by car and fed the parking meter £6 which, although not owned by the NRM, is a rip off. The NRM rely on donations but I'm not keen on being badgered for a donation as soon as I walk in. Surely it's up to the individual if he or she wants to donate and it's uncomfortable being asked straight away.
Today, as with most days I expect, there were a couple of school parties present, and I've nothing against this but the teachers/minders should control the kids better. We sat in the Japanese Bullet Train and these little pests were running about mad, shouting out etc. People trying to watch the accompanying film on the video screen had no chance of hearing it.
We usually have lunch in the NRM but it is pricey and not a great deal of choice for such a premier tourist attraction. Soup is £4.25 which includes a bread roll. I'd expect to pay £2.95 tops. It's probably private caterers who run the cafe so they can charge what they like.
A fantastic museum but best visit on foot and take a sandwich with you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Railway Museum also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to National Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing