We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great day for young and old”

National Railway Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$49.31*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 204 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a fantastic day out for the whole family in York, visit the award winning National Railway Museum. Get up close to over 300 years of fascinating history in York's only National Museum. Explore our giant halls full of trains and railway legends including the majestic Duchess of Hamilton, step on to the futuristic Japanese Bullet Train or marvel at the stunning opulence of the Royal Trains. Get on board awe-inspiring locomotives, watch our engineers at work in the Workshop, uncover hidden treasures in the Warehouse and make tracks to the outdoor area. The children can let off steam in our outdoor play area, and our miniature railway ride is perfect for the whole family. Every weekend and throughout the school holidays, the kids can enjoy a lively programme of events, including science shows, story telling, steam rides, craft activities and special events. Please note that calls to our listed phone number (0844...) cost 4.25p per minute plus your phone company's access charge.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
brandon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great day for young and old”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

covers all eras and types of train no entrance fee you can give donation child friendly good day for all the family

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank no2martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,341
    2,968
    544
    94
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fascinating.”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The National Railway Museum just outside of York centre is a great half-day spent. NRM has all the most famous steam trains possible, such as Mallard, balancing this with a child-friendly zone to entertain children for hours. There's a viewing area where you can watch trains being repaired, as well as an outdoor balcony area, which overlooks the railway lines leading directly into York Station, with even a live departures board like those in the station. Well worth a visit, or two.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SohPieRobBit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must if you have kids.”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have been twice, once with my three little brothers (5, 6 and 16) and then again with my boyfriend (22) - I'm not sure who liked it the most.
Neither are train fanatics, there's just a lot to do.
The second visit was during 'Wizard Week' suring Feb half term, never seen a place so crowded.
There's so much going on, kids will love it

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank natalie16_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience at no cost.”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The coaches used by royalty were really worth a view !!! The cafe set in the midst of all the coaches took my fancy as one can sit there with a hot drink and have a close look at the fancy coaches.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank umapednekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An unexpected treat !”
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I've been to York 4 or 5 times - and never thought of going to the Railway Museum - I'm not really into trains !
But I was in York on a coach excursion for 4 hours in torrential rain and the Museum was only 5 minutes away - and it was warm,dry and free !
And I really enjoyed it !
It was vast, well laid out and there was so much to see. - and two well appointed cafes - literally ,the icing on the cake !

Helpful?
Thank TeacherjohnBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Railway Museum also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to National Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing