We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant food and friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Rouge - York Coney Street - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - York Coney Street
Price range: $17 - $31
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: With a combination of delicious food, great wines and a real ambience, Café Rouge has embodied the style and je ne sais quoi of French dining since it opened way back in 1989. Now with over 90 sites across the country it's just the place to mull over the morning papers with a cafe au lait and a croissant, pop in for a spot of lunch, share a post-work drink or relax over an evening meal. The menu covers a range of French classics from croques and baguettes, ideal for a quick and easy snack, to more substantial fare such as steak frites and boeuf bourguignon. Likewise, the wines are predominately French; many made by lesser known producers, and provide the perfect accompaniment to the food on offer. If it's been a while since you've paid a visit, the team think you'll be surprised by how much you've missed them. No hassle, no rush, no skinny- decaff-double-shot-to-go, just a vibrant atmosphere that moves with your moods throughout the day.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went to Cafe Rouge pretty last minute on a Saturday night. Staff were welcoming and were able to move things around to accommodate us. Service was perfect (not rushed, not too slow), and the food quality was pretty good for a chain restaurant. We didn't have a big meal (I had a salmon croque madame) but we did enjoy it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    43
    18
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BAD PUBLICITY FOR THE FRENCH”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Called in for a light lunch--the Onion soup was just what we wanted after a long walk around York city. Soup was good but the 6 very small slices of baguette was very overpriced --£3.45!!
Could have bough 3 loaves for that. Normally in most French eating houses in France bread is included and unlimited. 2 bowls of onion soup, 6 small minute slices of baguette (not very fresh)
and 2 halves of lager beer cost £19.45.
No more for us thanks--it would be better to go to France.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank estherwhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was the choice of one of our party. I pre-booked the day before and on our arrival we received a pleasant welcome from one of the waitresses who took us to a comfortable alcove table. There was a reasonable atmosphere as the place appeared to be quite busy and the young man who took our order was polite and helpful. When the coffee arrived it was not particularly warm and the croques monsieur were more like cheese and ham toasties and, again, not very warm, although the beef baguette was very acceptable. We did, however, consider the meals, on the whole, not good value even when a 20% discount voucher was included. We wouldn't be in a hurry to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We tend to visit cafe rouge when I have vouchers from vouchercloud, which means that it's already looking to be a bargain! They gave me a free bottle of champagne on my birthday, and when we drank it all, the waiter took our drunken gigglyness in the best of humour! Whenever I visit it is usually not overly busy and our meals arrive quickly and cooked well. Looking at the over reviews, I am tempted to think that most people visited at peak times, i.e dinner time on weekends, or tea time on weekends, whereas we tend to go midweek. When it's busy, I feel a couple of mistakes are forgiveable due to the high pressure environment, and maybe they should be able to cope with this better, but hey ho, everyone is human. When we visit off peak, we have never had any complaints with anything!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 118maiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Waste of money - rubbish staff - rubbish food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The portions are small for what you pay for.
The staff couldn't care less, when you have to go to the bar yourself to simply ask for more drinks, that's a problem.
The place was quiet & the food was dry & un-inspiring.

Unlikely we will ever return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robbo947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - York Coney Street also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing